Lessons learned in '04 [ December 30, 2004, 7:22 pm ]

2004 is almost over. As crazy as this fact is, I'm a little glad to see it go. This year has been the most amazing year of my life, but it's also been a challenging year. I've laughed a lot, cried a bit and learned enough to write a novel...or at least a small memoir.

With that in mind, here are the greatest lessons of 2004:

~ To thine own self be true. While it's cliche' and I try to live by it every day, it echoed a lot this year as I finished up as an AP, was elected chair of NAE and had my character challenged more than once. I've never been as secure as I am today, but it took quite a few tears and more than one heart-to-heart to get to this.

~ There will always be critics. It was blatant this year, more than in years past. And I'm grateful because they've helped me to realize that the only opinion that matters is my own. It's also helped me to strengthen my voice and say "fuck you" to those who feel like they can bring me down.

~ Bitch isn't a bad word. There's a whole entry or five devoted to it. I'll suffice it to say that I've recaptured the word and that if anyone calls me one, I'll feel all empowered-like.

~ Drama is, actually, all around us. Fall 2004 was the semester of drama, egged on by a few choice individuals. I'm not impressed. While drama is all around, it's how we deal with it that shows our character. I hate drama and this year cemented it for me. My new theory is that I'll take everything at face value and/or with a grain of salt and love my friends no matter who hates who at the moment.

~ Fear can't rule me. I was afraid of taking risks before this year. And while I don't go around asking guys out and jumping out of planes, I no longer fear driving in Chicago (um, as much at least) or running around New York City. If I was afraid, I wouldn't have road tripped to Milwaukee or Green Bay or Chicago and I would've missed some of the best moments of this year. I probably wouldn't have gone to New York and fallen in love with the city .

~ Live in the moment. It's a given and I try to live by it. Life's too short to be distracted.

~ Appreciate your friends and loved ones. That one
bad weekend
in November? Yeah. That was a hard lesson to learn--even if nothing seriously harsh occurred. I'm making a bigger effort to let my friends and family know I love them after that.

~ Embrace and love your faults. So I fell off the ferris wheel in Chicago. So I tripped a pebble downtown. So I got more bruises than I could count this year because of my ungracefulness. My friends have helped me realize that it's a part of my quirky, entertaining charm. Plus it made for a great entry or two.

~
Madonna
is my god. Still. Especially after July.

~ It's hard to say au revoir. I had to kiss the AP job good-bye because it was time. It was hard but it was time. Then I went through two graduations where some of my closest friends left NMU. It's hard to say good-bye to things that mean a lot to you. I thought it was hard when I graduated high school, but that was nothing compared to this year.

~ Communication is key. To everything. Like I told a specific roommate: if you have a problem, talk to me. If you talk around me and behind my back, I will hate you. That still holds true. It's harsh, but I don't care. My true friends know how to communicate.

~ My friends rock so hard. They celebrate all the little idiocentric happinesses and mourn the smallest of tragedies. They get me. And I love them so much.

~ MAC cosmetics rock. Especially their mascara. Mark cosmetics rock too. And for less than MAC. But hurrah for them both and for my discovery of them both this year.

~ I am a child of the 80s. My love of 80s music was cemented hard-core this year. And my addiction to the I love the 80s series grew. Gaah.

It'd be interesting to hear what my friends and others have learned this year. Consider this a challenge.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design