Chicago Chronicles Part 1: Madonna, my god, Madonna! [ July 16, 2004, 2:23 am ]

I'm so completely exhausted right now, but I also have a huge dopey grin on my face that I cannot shake. This means that I indeed had a fan-fucking-tastic time in Chicago.

I *heart* Chicago. Not the traffic jams or the heat or the hustlers or the homeless people (they make me sad). But Chicago nonetheless.

This could be the longest entry I've ever written, so I determined on the ride home I'd split up the entries so it's easier to enjoy.

Madonna is my new God.

The concert was too amazing for words. I'm used to just seeing musician-ship on the stage--people jamming and standing in one spot.

This concert was a huge huge HUUUUGE production number. Which I expected. That doesn't mean it didn't blow me away, though.

From the moment the lights went down, my mouth was open from sheer awe. My mind was blown, to be completely cliche'.

She played all the songs I wished and hoped she'd sing. That made me completely happy. And I was on my feet for 95% of the show dancing and singing away. As well as screaming. (My voice was just a little squeaky this morning.) As was the rest of the crowd.

____

Playlist

The Beast Within (intro on huge screens--it was kinda weird. And creepy. But I was still hella excited.)

Vogue

Nobody Knows Me

Frozen

American Life

Express Yourself

Burning Up

Material Girl

Hollywood

Hanky Panky

Deeper and Deeper

Die Another Day

Lament

Bedtime Story

Nothing Fails

Don't Tell Me

Like A Prayer

Mother And Father/Intervention

Imagine

Into The Groove

Papa Don't Preach

Crazy For You

Music

Holiday

___

The concert was a solid two hours long. Obviously.

The highlights of the show for me:

~ Vogue: one of my all-time favorites. It was a huge production number with all her backup dancers and great choreography. An amazing way to start the show.

~ Frozen: I had chills. I adore this song. It was even better because I didn't think she'd sing this.

~ Express Yourself: just because I had so much fun dancing and singing along to it.

~ Deeper and Deeper: the best performance of the night. It was just her and her backup band with a simple remix of the song, sung cabaret-style. It was just so good. Words cannot describe how amazing this was.

~ Lament: the simplest song from Evita but still very powerful. I was in heaven because I love that movie so damn much.

~ Don't Tell Me: another big production number. They did the dance directly from the video, which completely kicked ass. I truly respect Madonna because she sang and danced the entire time. None of that lip-syncing shit. She is so amazing.

~ Into the Grove: production number where we all sang back to her. So fun. Are you noticing a trent where I enjoy the songs I get to dance to? With this though, they were doing Scottish dances in kilts. And there was a bagpiper. And some of the dancers learned to drum. Kick. Ass.

~ Crazy For You: because she dedicated this to the crowd. And because someone surprised the hell out of me. And that makes me smile.

~ Music: the stage setup for this was so cool. There was a revolving light-up staircase and the backgrounds were all Tetris-like. It was very 80s techno-y. It was so fun.

I was depressed when it was over. It was such a great show and I had so much fun. It was well worth the $150 I spent on the ticket.

I realize that I'm probably not describing this well. But I really can't. The show was just amazing. I know that word keeps coming up, but it's the only word I can think of that fits it nearly well enough.

Amazing.

And fabulous.

God, it was such a fabulous time.

Like I said, I still am in concert after-glow.

And when I come down from it, I'll probably bawl. FYI: I didn't cry at the show. Surprised? I was. I was too in awe and too excited to cry. But I may when I come down from this high.

I've seen my idol.

I really honestly can die a blissful girl.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Reno 911

Crush du Jour: Madonna

Happy Thought of the Moment: this whole entire vacation. Even with the bad shit (haha--stay tuned, folks), this whole vacation. Mmm.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design