"If you ever wondered what I'd look like wearing whipped cream, this is your chance!" [ December 04, 2002, 2:07 am ]

Do you know how good being pissed is sometimes? It really is fabulous fire for poetry class. I can most definitely assure you that I'm gonna continue to write poems because of this class. I've discovered an entirely new outlet to vent and explore. I totally didn't expect that to happen. I used to feel like a fraud-wannabe person when I wrote. But I think I'm finding my voice (this journal thang really helps) so I can express myself more clearly. Yippee!

Here's the prose poem I wrote about my assinine dad:

My dad called today. Yet another thirty-second conversation. No �hey how are you?� or �I love you.� Just him saying �I need you to do me a favor.� I�ve gone from being his daughter to being Miss Middle-Man for him and my mom.

I could shrug it off and act like it doesn�t hurt. But I�m not even going to try that anymore.

My sunny day shattered, I shudder at the dull ache sawing at my soul. I�ve tried my hardest to forgive, to be the loving Christian daughter. My energy is drained. I just want to move on.

�I�m fine, thanks for asking.�

Click.

Now I don't really know about prose poems. To me their just short short stories. But I really like writing them. I scribble them down all the time now. This one I think I'm proudest of, because it's totally what I'm feeling. I reading it to my class tomorrow in hopes of getting feedback. Yeah...heart on the sleeve here much? Hopefully my prof thinks it has potential.

I'm supposed to write another one. Truthfully I do have another one. But I don't know. I'll print off one copy for my conference tomorrow, but that's it. My prof can read it and say if it has potential or not, but that's it. It's NOT gonna be showcased. It's a lil' personal. Hehe *grin* *blush* (Now that I think about it, she probably won't like it cuz it's not about sex....)

Tonight was so much fun. For no real big reason either. Just a bunch of little components.

We had our last Leadership class today. With a guest speaker--yay! They were from Beacon House, which is the hospitality house for Marquette General. I am sooo psyched now. Amanda, Pete and I have decided that next semester we're gonna volunteer there. Every Sunday afternoon. I need to give back. I'm so blessed and happy and I really want other people to feel the same way. I like volunteering, I just really haven't had the time to do it. But next semester I'm slacking and only taking 12 credits, so I won't be as busy. So not only can I focus on my AP job, but I can give back a bit. And really--what is there to do on Sunday afternoons? I usually lounge around doing nada. So this will be great. I'm really excited. Eee! I'm so psyched to do this. I promised the executive director that I'd call once I get back from holiday break. Yay yay yay! (Note to my friends--if any of you are interested, join us. It'd be so much fun and they always welcome volunteers. All you have to do really is talk and listen. And I KNOW all of you are good at that!)

Once I got back to my dorm, I made posters for Cream the Staff. Or finished the posters rather. Cream the Staff--yeah, this is gonna be fun. If anybody has a vendetta against anyone on Hunt's staff, this is the time to exact revenge. Whipped cream in the face baby. It's gonna be fun. I'm so dead. I am sooo dead. It can't be any worse then the pudding that seeped into my pores after last year's Cream the Eboard VA event though. This is I know.

It was funny--I was telling one of my residents about the event. This is a direct quote: "if you ever wondered what I'd look like wearing whipped cream, this is your chance." I really need to start thinking about what I say before I open my mouth. =S

Once the signs were completed, Pete and I ran around putting them up. We made up a game. It was called "Steal all the Moo-Cow Signs." These alleged signs were from an event that already happened so they needed to be taken down anyway, so really I was doing the hall a favor. I love cows. I don't know why. And I wanted one of the signs for my bathroom. Well now I have half a dozen. Hehe. (Hey, they're cute!)

Then later on, I got to watch Lilo and Stitch again. 3rd time in 24 hours. Wheee! A bunch of people watched it: almost all of staff, plus Hannah and Manda. It was great. It was a lot of fun. There's so much energy with our staff that when we all get together, no matter the occassion, we always just end up laughing uncontrollably. And that leads to dumb comments. Which leads to more laughter.

I seriously lucked out. I hit the staff jackpot. I love everybody on staff soo much. I'm incredibly grateful. Lala

I'm gettin' tired. I'm gonna crawl into bed now.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy: "Just Between You and Me" by DC Talk (This song just transports me back to 9th grade.)

Crush du Jour: Well Hannah's little crush is David from L&S (ehehe), mine at the moment.....the usual, please!

Happy Thought of the Moment: my wonderful staff, the sign game, fun advertising, Orlando Bloom, Lilo and Stitch (this is seriously the best investment I've made all semester), possible shopping day in GB on Saturday, naps, Thanksgiving leftovers, fabulous plans for next semester, sweet voicemails (thanks Katie--you're a doll), visiting residents, moo cows, Rupert my teddy bear, craft show Friday, crankin' out the poems, spice drops, hot chocolate, cuddling under my warm blankets, the adorable pic of me and Hannah (totally frame-worthy, it's soo going on the wall!)

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design