Two Towers Adventure [ December 18, 2002, 8:39 pm ]

Note to all those people who think it'd be fun to go to a midnight matinee:

It's not.

It's NOT fun when you're surrounded by geeks. It's NOT fun when you see styles that are straight outta the 80s. It's NOT fun when you're surrounded by mulleted Tech nerds. (I'm not joking either.)

Ok, so maybe I'm dramatizing a bit, maybe I did have fun, but I had to endure a whoooole lot of Tech geeks in order to get into a movie that I wasn't all that thrilled to see in the first place.

Miracle of miracles--I actually got Em and me tix to see The Two Towers at midnight last night. I got to the theater at quarter after noon. I braced myself for a huuuge line and disappointment. Nope. I was in and out with my tix in less than two minutes. Very niiiiice.

Then Em and I had the ever-loving argument of when to arrive at the theater. I figured we could leave at 11 and get decent seats. SHE wanted to leave at 10ish. So we left at 10:30.

We got to the theater at like 10 minutes to 11.

UTTER CHAOS.

Holy shit, it was packed. We could barely get through the line to get to the back of the line. It was crazy. There was AT LEAST 100 people waiting in line for this movie.

I KNEW IT! I trumpeted the fact that all of Tech's finest were going to be there for the first showing. Lala--I'm right.

Why oh why can't Tech be on the same schedule as Northern? Why can't they be normal? Oh that's right--because their students aren't normal. *grin*

There were people literally camped in front of the theater. They had a tv and video game system and cooler and games and takeout pizza and EVERYTHING. They were thinking. They were smart. They obviously didn't have lives. Hehe

Seriously--99.999% of the people there were Tech students. Which didn't surprise me at all. But they weren't even the token few cute Techies. They were the scary "I'm-a-computer-nerd-and-allergic-to-light-and-run-a-million-chat-sites-and-will-never-ever-get-laid" type of students.

I have never seen so many mullets and pony-tails and such long hair in my life. It was quite scary. AHHHH

Excuse me while I try to purge the thought from my mind forever........

I questioned my sanity more than once while waiting in line. Emily was beyond psyched to see this. That's cuz she actually LIKED the first movie. I wasn't so impressed with it. It made my ass hurt and was too long and drawn out and failed to capture my attention for more than 10 minutes at a time (and the only times I was attentive were when Orlando was on-screen).

The only reason I even endured the lines and everything was just so I could have bragging rights to being one of the first to see this--cuz they are landmark movies after all.

(Besides--this is one great vacay story, no?)

BUT...this one?

OHMYGOD! Soooo fabulous. Go see it.

It made standing in line and listening to geeks and having a headache and paying lots for concessions allll worth it.

For all of you who hated the first one like I did: go and give the Two Towers a chance. It's well worth it. I swear to God.

Oh and by the way:

I am going to MARRY Orlando Bloom. He is just about the sexiest guy ever. And he kicks major ass in this movie. *drooooool*

I don't want to say too much about it cuz I know it just came out today, but it is a lot more fast-paced than the first one. I think because there's four groups to focus on and not just the band of the 9 fellows. There's a shitload more action and the men are all mucho sexy. I was rivetted.

The movie is just amazing.

I gotta wrap it up now. But to summarize:

~Tech geeks have no life and no sense of style

~Tech geeks scare me to no end

~The line for Two Towers midnight showing = massive chaos

~I'm gonna marry Orlando Bloom (if just for his horse mounting move alone--OMG!!!)

~Two Towers is amazing--see it

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Hele Me Lilo from the Lilo and Stitch Soundtrack

Crush du Jour: Orlando Bloom and SG *gringringrin*

Happy Thought of the Moment: not being a Tech student, having a life, good driving conditions, quality time with Em, Mateo, Orlando, Elijah Wood, mix cds, mac and cheese, homemade pasties, Christmas lights, jamming in the car, girly-fests, being waaay too hyper, staying up way late, girly sleepovers, being laaaaazy, comfy jammies, my Mike W. pillow, fluffy blankies, relaxing soothing baths, Jack Johnson's cd, wrapping presents, visiting people, peppermint ice cream (a holiday tradition for my family!), Toby McGuire

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design