This Love Has... [ February 09, 2004, 9:42 am ]

I've been thinking about relationships a lot lately. Maybe it's because I keep thinking I'm crushing, maybe it's because I keep seeing all the cute couples in my hall, maybe it's because fuckin' Valentine's Day is this Saturday. Whatever the case is, couple-hood is on my mind.

I was reading my friend's journal and she was talking about her relationship. It's not a good one, apparently, and my heart goes out to her. I have this idea in my head that if you're in a relationship, it's because you truly like the other individual and you like who you are, especially around the significant other. You compliment each other, essentially. In an ideal world, that's what it's like.

But more and more I'm seeing the dark side of being involved. Usually I only see the happiness, the smiles, the secret kisses, the shared intimacy. And that's still around for some people. That makes me smile. But more and more I've been seeing and hearing about unhappy couples. Like the fairy tale has ended for certain people. I've seen the heartbreak, heard the backstabbing and jealousy.

It's so sad.

I personally don't want to be in a relationship if it's going to be negative. And I'm not being overly optimistic. I know that there would be fighting and disagreements. There always is. But it seems that there's a lot more heartache in the world than there needs to be.

Maybe it boils down to knowing who you are and doing things for yourself before plunging into a relationship. That's probably it.

All I can say is that seeing this other side has been the best medicine. Maybe it's best that I cage my heart up for a bit. I'm not ready for heartache. I'm ready for love, but not heartache. This new side is the best thing that could happen for me.

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "This Love" by Maroon 5 (haaa--kind of ironic)

Crush du Jour: Orlando Bloom

Happy Thought of the Moment: vanilla chai, eating breakfast, feeling accomplished, having a clean room, redecorating a bit, new picture frames, pix from Carnival, good hair days, waking up feeling goooood, funny dreams, great residents, good recommendations, lotion, funny LJ entries, sunny days, dinner with Ryan, actually connecting with someone, Applebee's cheesecake, Border Grill, cute days, new issue of Glamour, waking up to "Clarity"

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design