And In This Moment I am Happy [ February 07, 2004, 1:20 am ]

If you wear cute underwear, it will be a good day. That is my new philosophy on life and I am going to stick to it. God bless my multiple pairs of underoos. (Today I had on cherry ones. Hehe.)

Today was hands-down one of the best days I've had this semester, this school year, maybe a good college moment that will live on forever.

Christy, Nate (her b-friend) and I went up to Tech to look at the statues for Winter Carnival. SO fun. I can't even begin to describe how great it was, but the entire time we were up there it was just one big "moment." I realized that one the way home. I wasn't worried about homework or relationships or my job or anything. I just was blissful the entire time I was with Christy and Nate. It was so fun. We all got along, we laughed a lot and we had so much fun.

I saw my mommy, too, for about 45 minutes. She looked and sounded a lot better than the last time I'd seen her. She was just bitching about her new diet. She had diaraticalitis (that's what sent her to the hospital) so now she's on this diet where she can't have any corn, nuts or anything shellish. She. Hates. It. So she entertained us with her kvetching. And I got a V-day present from her. I can't open it till next weekend, but I have a present. Yay for being loved!

The statues weren't as stellar this year as they were in years past. Sad. But...one will be forever engraved in my head. The theme for this year was "What We Love Most from Coast to Coast." Lamey lamey lame. The best entry somehow payed homage to Calvin and Hobbes--my favorite comic EVER. They built a bunch of snowmen that Calvin would have built--snowmen with shovels through their heads, snowmen caught under trees, one snowman vomiting. Awesome. Friggin' awesome. I couldn't stop laughing. It was SO great. And it was one where you could walk around and through it, so of course a photo shoot ensued. Sweeet. Sometimes nerds have the best senses of humor.

Haa--I wore my "I <3 Nerds" shirt to Tech today. I looked cute! I got a lot of second looks and funny glances. It was fabulous.

Then later on tonight the trio of us ventured to My Place for karaoke. I was still wearing my "nerds" ensemble. I got some weird looks from mulleted Yoopers. Oh well. It was so much fun there. My friend Bucky, who I've known since Freshman year was there and we danced to ACDC and Aerosmith and 80s songs in between the "performers." Sweet.

AND--I got Christy to sing. Woo woo! She swore she wouldn't get up there, but she did after she saw some of the "talent" that performed. There was 2 or 3 guys that did spoken word songs. They sat there and read the words straight from the screen. It was so funny. I mean really--what's the point?

So yeah--Christy, Bucky and I sang "Wannabe" by the Spice Girls. It was bad. B.A.D. I was so out-of-tune. (So I had a couple of drinks in me then--I wonder if that had anything to do with how I sang...) Christy and Bucky were my back-up dancers. We...sucked. But the people were drunk so it didn't matter.

We redeemed ourselves by bringin' down the house with "Proud Mary." Christy and I didn't know what the heck we were doing, but by the time it got to be the fast part we were rocking along with the Buck-ster. Awesome.

God bless karaoke. And great moments in life.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Lilo and Stitch on Disney Channel

Crush du Jour: John Mayer--we heard him THREE TIMES coming back from Houghton. Needless to say, I was quite giddy

Happy Thought of the Moment: great moments, fun snow statues, my I *heart* nerds t-shirt, grilled cheese and chicken noodle soup, lunch at the Library, fun magazine articles, seeing mommy, good mail, Stitch, photo ops, the SWEET C&H snowmen snow statue, hot chocolate, karaoke-ing, pj pants, my funky scarf, cute boys, hugs, sleeping in, scrapbooking store, finding the Florida sign

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design