Lessons from the Office [ August 01, 2003, 3:23 pm ]

I'm kind of just killing time here. Bad me I know. I should probably be packing. But I did pack up the majority of my books and cleared out half the (really really crappy) dresser, so I think I'm golden. *grin*

I was thinking about my job at Financial Aide. I know it's only my first day since I left, but it occurred to me how much I really liked it. It was a great summer job. I can't complain about a job with a really relaxed dress code, super-cool people, easy tasks and air conditioning (a godsend on humid days).

And I learned a lot from that job. Not just about the technicalities of financial aide--although learning some of that stuff was good too.

A.) Paper clips are a good substitute for hair pins. But I've talked about that already. I just wanted to remind you all that it's a good idea if you're kinda desperate. Hehe

B.) I've perfected my limp. We're only a floor from the lounge area where there's the beloved snackages and caffeine, but Julie and I were often too lazy to take the stairs. And we felt stupid whenever there was someone in the elevator going up that one floor, so often I simulated a limp as an excuse to use the elevator. Nobody can complain about a gimp, right?

C.) Mid-morning candy breaks are a definite gift from the gods. Especially if you forget to eat breakfast.

D.) Cubicle walls are paper thin. And Julie and I are not quiet people. Not a good equation. My bad. Which leads us to....

E.) Hyper people are good clean entertainment fun. At least that's what the counselors kept telling us. Hehe

F.) An open mind is a good thing. I'm referring to the occassion where Julie and I were fooling around with Spinner Radio and we landed on BollyWood radio--Indian musical numbers. Lots of fun. We enjoyed it so much that we'd blare it at 3 pm every day just to get a little giddy and appreciate non-American music a little more. We mostly listened because of the entertainment factor, but I'd like to think we expanded our minds a bit as well!

G.) You can bond over the little things. Julie happened to say "yay" like Special Ed from Crank Yankers and I copied her. The rest is history. Hehe. We're now officially good friends. Yay.

H.) The world is a little happier place if you share food with your fellow co-workers. If people are cranky, get some doughnuts or subs or any food item and the atmosphere in the office will brighten considerably. It's quite amazing. I promise. Just do it. It works.

I.) (Now the cheesy one...but it was reaffirmed this summer.) Never judge people from a fleeting first impression. I hate to say I did it with a couple of people in the office, but I did. But I got a slap in the face when I realized just how cool these same people were. Lesson learned, point well taken. Gaah.

J.) Any type of caffeine or sugared beverage is a good thing at 7:30 am. At least for me. And that's all that matters. So if you see me early in the morning sipping Pepsi, just bite your lip and shut up because I'll either be tired and cranky without my beloved caffeine or bright eyed and happy WITH it. Your choice. I know which one I'd rather be...

K.) I've gotten good at doing silly voices. I just discovered this yesterday. (and this is strictly for Julie:) Nigelkiiirrrrrrrk!!!

Hehe

Ok, back to packing and errands. *sigh* Yay for the little break though!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Commercials on FuseTv

Crush du Jour: Orlando Bloom

Happy Thought of the Moment: thunderstorms, lunch with Brett, real cherry coke, fun ads from magazines, interesting music videos, movie plans for tonight, movie popcorn, MTV en Espanol, ice water, sleeping in, moving day tomorrow, sparkly pipe cleaners, sweet cards, cheesecake

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design