Marriage Clarification [ July 24, 2002, 7:26 pm ]

Ok, I just wrote an entry but I need to clarify.

A couple of entries ago I vented about marrying when you're young. About how I think that it's pretty much a dumb idea. Somebody wrote me a note about it.

I totally did not mean to offend anybody with that entry. It's just my opinion. The note said something to the effect that it doesn't mean that you're settling down and giving in, that you've just found the person you want to spend the rest of your life with.

That is sooo romantic, let me say first. It really is! I love the idea of that. That note is totally right on. It got me thinking.

But where I'm coming from is this:

I live in a highly religious area. REALLY religious, where most people get married by the time they're 18. Or when they turn 18 actually. And what I feel like in regards to that is that, yes, they may want to spend the rest of their life with this person, but at the same time, they're probably being forced into doing it because of religion or parents or something. And they just settle down and pop out like a dozen kids and that's their life. Ahh! I do NOT think that that is right in any way.

I don't mean to offend anybody with my view on marriage. If you've found the person that you KNOW that you want to spend the rest of your life with, more power to you. I dream of the day I find that person for me. I think it's so romantic and awesome when people are in love and are soulmates (MELISSA!!) and positive that this is THE ONE. All I'm saying is that I think that marriage when you're young and have your whole life ahead of you when there's certain circumstances (and when you know that you're just gonna settle and have kids--like in my area) isn't such a grand idea. That's all.

If anyone has opinions on this, just feel free to sign the guestbook or leave a not or whatever. I'm quite open to hearing opinions. I like hearing all points of view. THank you to the person who left a note. You've made me realize that sometimes I'm notsovery open-minded.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Living Out My Rockstar Fantasy To: Some cheesy 80s song

Crush Du Jour: Still Jimmy Fallon

Happy Thought of the Moment: Learning how to better myself and be open-minded (Self-improvement is good!)

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design