Ishpeming Adventures [ June 15, 2004, 2:44 pm ]

Once upon a time, a girl named Krissy and some of her friends ventured to the town of Ishpeming (about 10 miles from the Kingdom of Marquette) in search of a different scene and some laughs.

The evening began after I finally figured out how to get to downtown Ishpeming--it took at least 4 cell phone calls. So sad considering that Ishpeming is about the size of NMU's campus. Once we got there, Tina and I celebrated with Tequila Rose shots at a bar called Hickey's. (For real)

We then proceeded to a bar called the Wonder Bar, which I kept calling Der Bar because the "Won" part looked burnt out. This skeezy little place is paradise in disguise with salty good popcorn and Fuzzy Navels for $1.75. I likey this bar.

Mr. Chest-hair is Johnny, the owner of the Wonderbar. I called him iconic, he decided he like us, he gave us free keychains. I really likey this bar.

Next stop was the Royal Bar. It was spacious and crawling with Yoopers. It also had totally cheap drinks--I got a triple Malibu and Coke for $2. So what if I had to put up with the bartender teasing me about it, it was completely worth it.

Mike and I did Jager shots. More like double shots of it. Hurrah for that. After that, I was more than a little drunk. I *heart* my new Jager-buddy. And God bless the Royal Bar.

The bar-hopping group. I don't know if I was trying to dazzle the camera or not look drunk. Either way I don't think I accomplished what I meant to.

Tina and I decided it'd be great fun to take a picture with a bunch of Yooper guys. She was more inebriated than me. Yet I had to talk the guys into a picture. I told them we were from California and we wanted a picture with "authentic locals." I think they believed us...until Brett informed me that my Yooper accent was in full bloom thanks to the Jager and Malibu. Dammit.

We thought we looked cute. This was at the Paradise bar where really bad karaoke was going on. Right after this I dared Tina to run up behind this group of girls singing "I Love Rock-N-Roll" and pose while I snapped a picture. She did. I almost fell over laughing.

The back exit from the Paradise Bar. It looked like something out of a 70s horror movie. I was scared, so I snapped pictures and held up the line that wanted to exit. I am so cool.

The last bar of the night was the TeePee Bar. I thought it was T.P. like toilet paper and couldn't wrap my mind around the name. Turns out it was Native American-themed. Charming.

The girl's bathroom door--it says "Squaws." I'm surprised they haven't gotten lawsuits. The bathroom was even worse, like a glorified outhouse. Ick.

I was slightly sober by the last bar, so Brett and I were playing one of those electronic game thingers on the bar. We were playing some form of Scrabble when this 40-something-year-old greaser of a guy noticed what we were doing. He started "helping" me, which just meant he tried to bury his scratchy beard into my neck while he shouted answers to us. Um, personal space please.

Brett's a thug. Especially with his "vintage" Bon Jovi shirt. (You can't see it, but it's awesome.)

This is literally take 7 to try to get a decent picture of me and Brett. He's the best. He put up with drunken Krissy antics and was the DD. I owe hinm big-time.

God bless, Ishpeming. When can I go back?

Ciao dahling~

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Just a Little While" by Janet Jackson

Crush du Jour: John Mayer

Happy Thought of the Moment: nuggets, fun pictures, lazy days at the office, good conversations, still being inspired, online shopping, payday Thursday, sugar rushes, new comfy sheets, Real World and daquairis with Manda tonight

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design