Holiday Mayhem [ December 15, 2002, 2:48 am ]

Soooo these past couple of days have been sheer chaos. You'd think that once exams were over that all the stress and confusion would be over. Oooh no--you'd be mistaken.

Couple of things to grumble about:

A.) I still have no friggen clue what I got on my Law paper. You know--the one that I stressed over and logged over 20 hours at the library in one weekend for? The paper that was supposed to be graded by the time our Law exam rolled around on Thursday. Yes yes--my group's papers were not graded. Therefore I am NOT impressed. I spent most of Thursday and a huge chunk of Friday stressin' about what I got on the paper. I ran around Friday looking for the prof to give me my paper cuz he promised he'd have it done by then. Except he wasn't in his freakin' office. Grrr. So I still don't know what I've gotten. And at this point in the game I don't really care. Because I think that I did fine on it--I met all the requirements, defined all the damn terms, disected the cases to the best of my ability and got a 16-page paper out of it. I think that constitutes at least a B of some kind. I don't care. I just don't give a shit any more. Cuz I'm sure that I passed the class. I don't care. In the big picture, one stupid required class isn't gonna be the end of my world.

(During the stressed-out period, I gained peace and perspective that allowed me to not give a shit about this paper anymore. Yup yup.)

B.) My laptop is being completely stupid. I mean, it's working fine for the most part. But right now I'm trying to burn mixes for the staff and it won't let me make more than one copy of the disc. I have to start fresh every freakin' time I want to copy it. IT SUCKS. It's totally taking up way too much of my time and I don't like it.

Those are my only two complaints from the past couple of days--pretty good hey?

It's so weird. The hall is completely dead. I think there's maybe 5 residents left in the whole place. 5 residents and the staff. Niiiiiice. It's kind of nice with it being so quiet. I like it. It's not normal, but it's been so hectic lately that I don't really mind the peace. Quite nice. Yay.

Oh--go figure. One of the only people that hasn't left yet is the friggen noisiest person in the hall--he happens to live right above me. I swear, the guys that live above me have urges to blast shitty music when I'm about to watch tv or wrestle when I'm about to jump into bed. They annoy the fuck outta me sometimes. Hopefully next year I'll have really quiet people living above me. A girl can dream, right?

All of my friends have left. Does anybody realize how much I loathe saying goodbye to people? I hate it--it's like an end, a clincher that I just don't want to face. Sure, it's only for a few weeks, but it still sucks. I honestly didn't say bye to that many people--partly cuz I've been hella busy, but also partly cuz I don't like saying goodbye.

To all my friends: most of you are home by now, I'm glad you made it home safely. I love you all so much, have a great break, and I'll see you all in a few short weeks.

Bob--I am going to kill that man. He messages me on Wednesday and is like "bye, I'm leaving for home. Like right now. Merry Christmas." What the fuck? One of my best friends leaves without even really saying goodbye. Sure that sounds retarded after that whole spiel that I just made, but I wanted to at least go out to dinner with the man one last time before he left for home. Thanks, hon. Muchas gracias for that. See if you get your present now! *grin*

Thursday night was so nice. It was me and four of my best friends all hanging out. It was so great. Megan came over to hang out. That was seriously only like the second time all semester that we've had a chance to hang out together. She's all busy with work and her fabulous boyfriend and I am just never available, so we never cross paths anymore. But she came over, so that made me sooo happy. And Christy and I exchanged presents. And Melissa and I exchanged presents.

It was just sooo nice--it was one of those quintessential holiday moments where you feel are warm and fuzzy and loved, surrounded by your best friends, laughing and just having fun. It seriously was one of my favorite moments of the semester.

Simple pleasures. *sigh*

Ooh! Lemme just say that selling books back is the bestest thing in the whole world. I can never sell my books back because I have to keep them for my major most of the time, but this semester I was able to sell back my Poetry and Law books--sweeeeeeet. I got over $60 back for both of them. I was BEYOND ecstatic. I would have been happy with $10. Seriously. It was great. Lala--yay for extra cash!!!

I'm nearly packed to go home in the morning. I loathe packing. It sucks. I start out thinking that I don't need to pack that much because it's just home. I think that I only need to bring home clothes. Nooo--then I start finding parts of people's presents and stuff I must take home. And entertainment stuff. And DVD's my family may enjoy. Yeah--I now have a huuuuge pile of shit to bring home with me. Luckily I'm ridin' home by myself so Rexy can hold all my stuff. Yay!

Mmmmm. Vacation is going to be soooo fabulous. I'm not working, I'm just lounging around for three weeks. Mmm. That sounds so divine. I have a huge pile of books I'm going to devour. And I'm going to soul-search in my private journal. And scrapbook--I'm gonna document this past semester and get all artsy-creative-like.

And sleep a lot! I'm gonna sleep soooo much. Eeee! And I get to eat real food for nearly a month. That's the greatest thing. Mom's cooking. Yay! I'm so excited to go home.

Home for the holiday--God, that is so fabulous.

I hope everybody has a wonderful holiday season. Hopefully I'll be able to sporadically add entries in here detailing the exploits of my life. (Or lack thereof this vacay, seeing as I'm going to become a professional slacker. Hehe) If not--to all my fabulous friends: I love you dearly. Happy Holidays! Mwah!

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Christmas Eve,Sarajevo" by Trans Siberian Orchestra (my friend Cassie once described them as Marilyn Manson meets classical music--that's a fairly decent description!)

Crush du Jour: Same--hehe

Happy Thought of the Moment: hanging out with friends, candle-light, pretty wrapping paper, holiday baking, my new Life game from Miss Amanda, scrapbooking, the thought of loafing for 3 weeks, my wonderful staff, the cute purse I bought today, flannel jammies, new issue of Cosmo, Christmas episodes, SNL, Jimmy Fallon, my poetry journal, poetry in general, this kick ass Christmas mix I made, really really nice weather for the middle of Dec. in the UP (it's been in the 40s the past 4 days), cash for textbooks, washing my hands of grades, gaining perspective, "psychological sex", debating, happy instant messages, wandering the bookstore, all the good books I'll get to read this month, Maid in Manhatten, chick flicks, chilling with Em, Stitch

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design