Gooooood Day! [ December 10, 2002, 10:58 pm ]

So this is the 4th time today I've attempted to actually add to my diary. That survey doesn't really count cuz I wasn't even trying to add. I was talking to people online and killing time and my brain hurt so I wasn't gonna try to update at all.

Today has been an EXTREMELY GOOOOOOOOD day! Lala--a cloud-9-I'm-floating-and-ohso-giddy type of day.

No complaints here. Hehehe

So my brain is mush from stupid poetry vocab, but that has to be the only complaint.

Good news and happiness abounds in Krissy-World.

My stupid poetry final is OVER!!! No more stupid vocab, no more having to play the prof's little games, no more appeasing anyone except myself with my poems. I LOVE writing poetry now because of this class, but I didn't like the fact that I was merely appeasing her to get a good grade on a couple of my poems.

Like my imagery poem for example. Who made the rule that you have to be specific? Why can't you just let the reader make their own conclusion about stuff? Readers of poetry are intelligent. I'll let them interpret this poem as they will. I was very non-specific--all I said was "two bodies quivering under a blanket" in part of it.

Sure it can be sexual. We all know this. I realied it even before it was on paper. But it wasn't what I was thinking of. I was describing a mother comforting her child during a storm. That's all. Innocent. But if other people interpretted it differently, more power to them.

The problem my prof had was that it was too non-specific, therefore it wasn't "developed right." Suuuure. So I had to change the poem to fit her criteria to make her happy to get a better grade. I personally like my first version best, but that's not the version getting graded.

Whatever. I'm through with that class. I've learned a lot and I know can explore my emotions deeper and express myself more eloquently, but I'm glad that the class is done. It was fun and it's had its moments (ie: mine and Leslie's loud boisterous treks to class, Kristin's sarcastic comments, "interpretive dances" and the sexual cow poem) but I was ready for it to end.

In other news: AHHHH! I passed my Case Studies class! AHHH--CELEBRATE!!! Lalalala! I'm soo beyond psyched about this. I seriously thought that I was going to fail this class or get a bad grade in it. Here was what I thought last night before I went to bed: Oh god, I'm going to get a bad grade on the last paper. If I get a bad grade on the paper I'll get a bad grade in the class. I'm GONNA FAIL! Oh god, my GPA is gonna drop. No more AP job. No more scholarships. I won't be able to take Campaigns. I'll have to rearrange my schedule for next semester. I'm such a loser. I'vefailedI'vefailedI'vefailed.

Yeah, imagine having THAT running through your head as you attempt to fall asleep. I really thought that this one class was going to ruin my GPA and college career.

But NOPE--I've PASSED!!!!! Yaaaaaay! I'm so proud of myself. I got a B. That's all I wanted.

Huuuuuuuuuuge sigh of relief.

Em and I went to Applebees to celebrate this little piece of news. I don't think anybody fully understands just how important this is to me. This class was HARRRD. I swear, next semester PR will NOT be neglected. I will work hard and spend lots of time working on my project. I promise I promise I promise! *grin*

K, the UP needs an Imax theater right about now--the Lion King is being rereleased only to big screen theaters. I'd LOVE to see it on Imax. It'd be sooo amazing. I adore the Lion King. It's so great. Why why why isn't there an Imax theater around here? =/ (PS: I'm saying this cuz it's being advertised on Disney right now.)

Ahaha--it's the holidays, folks. I was just telling somebody earlier today that it doesn't even feel like Christmas. But THEN Megan gave me my Christmas present. She's so great. She got me a mini water garden and mini spa kit because she knows how stressed I am. She also got me a gel-filled eye mask. I've wanted one of those for years! She rocks. The gift rocks. It totally made my day.

Ha--I also got a little present in the mail: a condom from trojan.com. Thanks to whichever friend decided that I needed a "her pleasure" condom! That just cracks me up. It's not like I'll be having sex anytime soon, but still it's the thought that counts, right? Hahaha

Oooh! NAE also found out that Jamie Kennedy's been rescheduled for Feb. 16th. Hurray! We have a February event. This is a good thing cuz it looked like all of our events initially were going to be in March and April. Which totally would've sucked to work on with projects and classes and tests and social lives and 3 or 4 major events to staff. Yeah....but it looks like that's not gonna be the case anymore. Sweeeet! I'm pumped.

I just need to say that I'm really looking forward to next semester. A lot. I think it's going to be really good. NAE is bringing a bunch of great acts (none of which I can really talk about cuz they're all in the process of being contracted), the hall is going to be even better cuz we'll all be in a groove staff-wise, I know I'll be able to be a better AP to the residents, and I'm not going to be as busy cuz of a lesser credit load. I think I'll only have one semi-hard class (PR), so I'll have more time to spend with my friends. And I want to be able to devote more time to NAE as well.

Which brings up another point: I'm thinking about next year and NAE. It's my 3rd year in the group. And I love it. It's great experience, the members are wonderful and I'm having fun with it. I was talking to the president, and she thinks that I should step up for next year and become chair or co-chair.

Whoa.

That's a huuuge thing. This is a pretty powerful organization on-campus. Well not powerful, that's the wrong word. But it's a bigger organization and popular--all the students know who we are. To be leading THAT. That's big. Really big.

And it's a huge compliment that the president/chair person thinks that I could do it.

It's not that I don't have faith in myself. I know I could probably do a decent job. I don't know if I'd have the time and energy with the AP job. AP-ing is a full-time thing and it's been great to focus on that. Add that to chairing a big group? That may not fly. I may snap and go crazy-stressed.

I think that the more I think about it though, the more confident I grow. I don't think I could chair it, but I know I'd make a kick-ass co-chair. That way I'd still get to voice my opinions, yet still get to lead. I think that's more of a win-win sitch for me cuz of my big mouth. I can't be neutral and the chair needs to be neutral.

Yeah--I think I could do it. I'd make an excellent co-chair for NAE. I'm all about helping out the group and I really think that I could reach out more with co-chairing.

(I'm just gonna need to learn more of the ins-and-outs of the group. But that's where shadowing the chair and co-chair comes in! Heh heh)

K, I'm thinking I'm babbling. Therefore I must go. Besides I need to get ready to work at the front desk. Yup--I got a couple of shifts this week. yay for extra cash! *grin*

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Blurry" by Puddle of Mudd (I like how this could be taken a couple of different ways--from the parental standpoint or the lover's standpoint)

Crush du Jour:uhh...the same *blush*

Happy Thought of the Moment: passing PR with a B, Applebees, no more Poetry vocab, getting prepared for Law class, extra cash, my new water garden, mini spa kits, cute gifts, girly stuff, glittery keychains, free pizza, cold pop, Christmas songs, NMU hockey, hoodies, Spinner Radio, mix cds, Michelle Branch's cd, U2's "Elevation" (I LOVE this song), the cream the staff pix, SLFP, Christmas cookies, holiday party Friday (at darling Siennas! Yay!), Goldmember, owning Head Over Heels on DVD, Christmas presents, pretty wrapping paper, gorgeous winter days, fuzzy hats, chilling with good friends, homemade pralines (mmmmm), phone calls from friends

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design