Gobble Gobble [ November 28, 2002, 9:00 pm ]

I'm hoooooooome!!! Hurrah hurrah hurrah! I've wanted to get home for so long that it feel fabulous to finally be here. To not have to worry about my job for a moment or homework or projects. To just be able to chill out for a few days.

Mmmmmmm--it's JUST what the doctor ordered.

It's so fabulous.

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!!!!

It was really funny. I didn't leave Marquette yesterday until noon. NOON people. Not that it was all bad. It took longer than expected to get the hall shut down. (Mainly cuz of *ahem* a slow person or two.) But it's all good. Mike and I took off and got Em by noon and we were past Negaunee by quarter after 12. Hurrah

It was sweet cuz the ride home seemed soooo much shorter with a couple of people in the car. With Em it's always fabulous, but Mike was fun as well. It was a quick fun ride home.

The only gliche? My stupid windshield washer fluid wasn't working. So when we got to BK in Ishpeming Em and I (the automotive experts that we are--riiiight) we checked out the fluid. First we had to figure out where the fluid went--since Rexy is still a semi-new car for me and all. Once we figured that out it was all gooood. The resevoir was totally dry. Completely--it took the entire gallon of fluid. Whooooa.

After that there was no more dirty windshield for Krissy! Thank god too, cuz I was hunched over squinting watching traffic before we fixed it. It wasn't a good sitch.

Rexy's all good now though. Yay. =)

Aight, so the Faith Hill special's on tv right now. What the hell is up with the dancers? Hmmm. This concept director must be on crack or something. Yup yup. I must break into this business to be a tour manager--it'd be a lot better than some of the crap tours out right now! Hehe

Sooo here's how dinner went at the Petersen house today. Or should I say tonight? We didn't eat until 6:00 tonight. Which is cool, it's fine. Except the initial plan had been to eat at 2. Katy got called into work so we pushed our meal back. Nice.

Mom and I had an adventure and a half. She got the lovely idea to cook the turkey in a Reynold's plastic bag for some odd reason. I don't know why. She swore that it'd cook better. K, whatever. But before we could stick our massive bird (FYI: 17 freakin' pounds for THREE people. We got lots of leftovers if anybody's hungry! *grin*) into the bag, we had to put oil on it. For God knows why. But we did. Do you have any idea how hard it is to shove a 17 pound oiled-up turkey into a bag with not-such-a-big opening? The bird nearly got dropped more than once. For those of you wondering--it did turn out fine, though.

Dinner was soooo delicious. Mmmmmm. I'd been waiting for a real Thanksgiving Dinner all semester. It was well worth it. I think the reason I love our dinners so much is that all 3 of us help to prepare it. Mom does the turkey, but Katy mashes potatoes, I cook the yams and stuff and we all peel potatoes and make the stuffing and chop stuff up. It's part of the tradition.

OHMYGOD. I have been getting too Hallmarky-sappy today. While mom and I were peeling away I nearly cried cuz she was talking about how her sisters have tons of money and she....kind of doesn't have so much. I was all "but you're richer in so many more ways than them. You're a lot stronger and I've learned more from you than I ever would've learned from anybody else." Oh gawwwwd. It was such the Hallmark moment. Totally sappy. I've been doing that with her a lot these past couple of days. I think because I miss having meaningful talks all the time with her. Except she really doesn't want to have the talks. She'll talk about the family and shopping and future plans and stupid stuff like who bought a rundown restaurant, but we haven't had a deep convo yet that I KNOW she wants to have. Wierdness....

I told her about my crush. That was funny. Her face got all squinchy and she starting "oooh"-ing and stuff. Always an adventure revealing stuff to my mom. Yup yup...

So I think that I've been tripping myself out these past couple of days. I've been thinking of "beyond college." And it's scary. Cuz what really am I gonna do after college? Am I gonna be stuck in the UP, the armpit of despair? Will I be brave enough to start off in a brand-new city? Am I gonna have a great job? Will I be happy? I don't know. Nobody does. I can dream and hope and plan as much as I want, but it doesn't guarantee or secure anything. It's trippy. And really really scary.

All I can really say is that I hope I'm happy and livin' out my dreams. (Whatever they are....)

I've also been thinking about the next couple of weeks. Christmas--yay! I'm pumped. But also a couple of events I need to plan STAT. "Cream the Staff" and when that's gonna be. Must email staff ASAP when I get home. (Or talk to them during impromptu training Sunday.) Study buck auction. When will that happen? And please please let me make money from the cream the staff thingy to get some not-so-lame prizes. And solicit more. This next week is gonna be fuuuun. Riiiight. Honestly, if I had an assistant for the next couple of weeks I'd be the happiest person ever!

I know I'll be ok though. =) I have fabulous support.

Lala

Sooo Operation: Begin Christmas Shopping commences at 5:30 AM tomorrow. Hehehe Yup yup--Em and I are going to brave the crowds and potential maulings to get shopping and get sales. Wheee! It's a tradition. HEhehehe! I'm psyched. Mine and Em's mission for tomorrow? Brave the scary WalMart stalkers and get a dual-deck DVD/VCR player each--for our moms. Awww. We're such good kids. :-p They're on sale. For really cheap and my mom wants one really bad. I think I should be scared.....

Aight, I should try to get to bed sometime soon. Plus I gotta confirm shopping plans for tomorrow. Wish me luck!

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Disease by Matchbox Twenty (I'm sooo obsessed with this song right now. It's so good and I LOVE Rob Thomas' voice!)

Crush du Jour: Rob Thomas (and his sexy sexy voice)....and SG

Happy Thought of the Moment: Thanksgiving dinner, quality time with my mom, cruising, winter tires, my car, cranberry sauce, dorky boys, long-distance phone calls from my gay boyfriends (hehehe), hanging out with Pookie, Muppets Christmas movie, unexpected happy IM's, getting to sleep for a looooong time, great novels, bubble baths (yay!), warm hugs, happy dreams, Lilo and Stitch out in 5 days (!!!!!!), Tim McGraw, shopping with Em, breakfast at Perkins tomorrow, the Friends with Brad Pitt (he's soo freakin' gorgeous), Thanksgiving and being grateful for sooo much, soul-searching

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design