The Company You Keep [ February 22, 2004, 3:15 am ]

I ushered for Company today. It's the drama/music department's latest musical.

First off--I looked hot. I had on my designer cut skirt with my tube top sweater and long cigar jacket over it. Vamp red lipstick, my skank boots and dangly earrings completed my ensemble. I looked very urban. Which was awesome since I got ready in 15 minutes.

Anyways....

The department has put on some great shows in the past. The Laramie Project tore at my soul and changed my life. The Scarlett Pimpernell was such a great play. And Picasso at the Lapine Agile made me realize that Steve Martin is indeed a new idol of mine.

I didn't know what to expect with Company because I'd never heard about it. I knew it won Tonies and was pretty modern and that it was a musical. That's it.

I really enjoyed it. A lot of people didn't seem to like it. Granted, there was about 90% old people at the matinee, so they probably wouldn't like it.

The premise is that this guy is in his mid-30s and single. All he has is married friends. It's like they're in this cult and they want him to join. The cult of marriage. It's pretty much his journey of accepting himself and his point in life because he's NOT married.

When I was watching, I was fascinated (oooh--big word for me) because of the relationships that he had with his friends--the couples. And the relationships themselves were intriguing, too. I liked the way it was written. It's such a well-written show. It featured a variety of couples: an engaged/newlywed couple, divorced couple, settled with kids couple, couple on verge of being mentally-emotionally abusive, couple that's been around the block a few times. The characters were all different--some seemed to teeter on cliche', which was disappointing, but I think that was the point. I think when people get married they tend to fall into a category. You lose a part of yourself because you become a part of a couple, so you're not just "you", you're a half. That's how the play made it seem.

The whole play seemed to focus on marriage. Rob, the main character, couldn't make up his mind. He wanted to get married, but it was because of his friends. Ten minutes into the play I was ready to tell all his friends to shut the fuck up and leave him alone. Rob--you need new friends.

Which is essentially what happens at the end. It's awesome. Sorry to ruin the ending for those who haven't seen it. But the ending totally clinched it for me. It didn't cop out. You don't know what's going to happen to Rob. His friends are all worried because he's "alone." And he may be. He essentially gave up his friends. All his fucking boring married, cliched friends. It was the greatest thing ever. Because it left you dangling. You don't know if he's going to marry or get new friends.

It was so well-written. I couldn't get over it. I wanted it to be a book or based on a book so I could get my hands on a copy and read it over and over. There's a lot of hidden meaning in it. It's such a basic musical--no huge production numbers or flashy costumes. Just basic numbers, no memorable songs even. Just memorable characters and thought-provoking insights.

Damn. I'm so inspired. It was so great. I'm quite happy I saw it. It'd be interesting to see it on Broadway. Oooh yeah.

Chalk this up to another fabulous experience for this year for the Kikster.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: MTV

Crush du Jour: noone really...

Happy Thought of the Moment: great musical, being inspired, embracing my single-ness, fun times at the desk, scrapbooking, chicken nuggets, oreos and milk, Wal-Mart runs with the boss, hugs, comfy track pants, finding my disposable camera, naps, comfy blankets, lookin' hott, skank boots, red lipstick, brunch with Manda tomorrow

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design