In the year two thousand....and four [ December 24, 2004, 9:00 pm ]

December 24th. 9 pm. Eastern Standard Time.

....

I HAD to do that. I'm such a dork. Now, onward with the now-traditional Christmas Eve survey...

The Year in Review

1. What did you do in 2004 that you'd never done before? I got to see Madonna in concert AND run rampant in New York City--two things to check off my life goals list!

2. Did you keep your new year's resolutions, and will you make more for next year? I don't like resolutions, I like goals. With resolutions, it's too in-the-moment and if you don't stick to it, you just give up. With goals, you can adjust and always try again. Plus, I don't think I made any resolutions...for once.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth? Umm....lots of people had babies, but nobody really close to me did.

4. Did anyone close to you die? No, thankfully. But the stress I went through with my friends in the car accident was MORE than enough grief. Gaah.

5. What countries did you visit? None--GOD I cannot WAIT for March!

6. What would you like to have in 2005 that you lacked in 2004? Less negativity and drama--it seemed to fill this past semester and I loathe both things. I just have to learn to let go a little more and lighten up. Sigh.

7. What dates from 2004 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
March 28th: Green Bay John Mayer concert with Emily--one of the best and funnest moments of my life
April 14th: inducted into Mortar Board
July 14th: saw Madonna in concert
October 22: flew into New York
October 24: saw Rent for the first time


8. What was your biggest achievement of the year? Getting into Mortar Board was nice validation for my work at NMU. But navigating through Chicago traffic made me so empowered--same with thriving in New York.


9. What was your biggest failure? Not getting the DC internship was a huge slap in the face, back in January.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury? Only those that were self-inflicted by my lack of grace. Gaah. I think my ankle is permanently ugh-ish from the Ferris Wheel incident.

11. What was the best thing you bought? My digital camera--the best investment I've made yet!

12. Whose behavior merited celebration? My true friends rock. The ones who don't speak behind my back or act catty. The ones who support and love me for who I am deserve a big toast. And an even bigger hug.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed? I'm sad that friendships have disintegrated because some people like drama too much. But I realize that I don't need that kind of negativity in my life, so I'm glad that I've learned that lesson. But to those who thrive on drama: grow up, I'm embarassed for you.


14. Where did most of your money go? you got me! I'll say food and stuff for the apartment. Really though, I spent a lot on shopping for dumb stuff like scrapbooking supplies and random shopping trips. Gaah.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about? Madonna! New York City! John Mayer concerts! Chicago!!!

16. What song will always remind you of 2004? "Let Go" by Frou Frou is my theme song for the year. But "Pieces of You" by Ashlee Simpson played out so much that it'll always remind me of 2004--especially since her SNL fiasco occurred while I was in NYC, only blocks from where it was taking place.

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:

a) Happier or Sadder? more realistic, but more content and satisfied than ever before. Definitely happier.

b) Thinner or Fatter? about the same I think.

c) Richer or Poorer? Poorer because I suck at managing money, but richer because of all the experiences I've had and the friends, as well.

18. What do you wish you'd done more of? Spent more time with friends. I hate having such a full schedule sometimes.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of? I wish I hadn't let some insignificant people get to me. I'm learning to let go--lesson the grip in a sense...

20. How will you be spending Christmas? Christmas with the family--nice traditions. I adore them.


22. Did you fall in love in 2004?: Only if you count myself! (Just kidding!)

23. How many one-night stands? I almost had one!

24. What was your favorite tv program? I have a soft spot for Newlyweds, but I also adore SNL and South Park.

25. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year? I don't like the word hate. I hate noone. I don't like the actions of some people. But that's about it.

26. What was the best book you read? A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius totally inspired me. I highly recommend it.

27. What was your greatest musical discovery? Jeremy Kushnier. He's not very well-known, but his cd rocks. He'll be famous, mark my words.

28. What did you want and get?
I really wanted to get into Mortar Board. I'm proof that if you work hard you can get what you want.

29. What did you want and not get? I really wanted the DC internship and was completely crushed when I was denied. But it all worked out because this summer was the best yet: I made new friends, went to a couple of awesome concerts and lived like I wanted to. Everything does happen for a reason.

30. What was your favorite film of this year? Napoleon Dynamite. But Alfie blew me away with how well done it was--it's up there because of the surprise factor. And let's not forget about Anchorman and Garden State....

31. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you? It was a quiet bday--my 22nd. It was nice: dinner and drinks with a few of my closest friends.

32. What one thing would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying? Nothing that I can think of. It was a great year: I learned a lot, experienced a lot and loved a lot. What more can a girl ask for?

33. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2004?
Comfortable with a touch of trendy and a dash of rockstar. I wear what I like.

34. What kept you sane? Me-time, for without it I would've snapped so many times. My friends also helped me to shift my perspective and not flip out many a time. Thanks, guys. =)

35. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most? I really enjoy Jessica Simpson--she's smarter than people think, plus she entertains me. As far as crushes, Zach Braff, Jude Law and Jake Gyllenhall all came onto the crush radar.

36. What political issue stirred you the most? the election in general helped me to realize that passion drives a lot of actions. That being said, I'm saddened by the fact that people don't consider homosexual unions "legal." And let's not get into the fact that Bush is gettin' back into office. Rawr.

37. Who did you miss? My mom because i don't get to see her enough. And Joe because he is a soulmate.

38. Who was the best new person you met? I made a bunch of new friends, and I'm highly thankful for that. I can't really think of one specific person, so I'll just say I'm happy all of my friends are in my life.

39. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2004. So many (I'm devoting an entry to it later on), but the biggest that I've learned is that there will always be negativity around, but if you're your own biggest fan you can't go wrong and things will work out.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design