Walking Work Cliche [ August 16, 2004, 10:49 pm ]

I'm feelin' a bit exhausted at the moment. No real reason why, I just am.

That's been a reoccurring theme for this summer. That dawned on me a couple of days ago. My summer is gone. It was supposed to be an enchanted summer; one for the books; one of my best ever. And,ok, so it wasn't a horrific summer by any means. But it hasn't exactly been the summer of my dreams either.

And I'm feeling a little jaded because of that. This was my last summer to actually just savor my youth and have fun.

Instead, what do I do? Get ulcers at the office and migraines at the desk. Neither of my jobs are classifiably hard by any means. But the tension at the office is enough to make even the sturdiest person tremble. Especially now. I'm feeling the pressure so hard. And I shouldn't be. I'm just an assistant. I'm a peon, a bottom-feeder in a sense. But I think I'm feeling the stress as much as the higher-ups....even not a little more.

I've spent the summer working. And shopping. I've accumulated a lot of...stuff. Nothing necessary, I haven't really saved any money. But it feels good to be self-sufficient and live on my own terms.

And in that sense this has been a successful summer.

But at this moment, I'm feeling highly over-worked. I barely took any time off--I had a long 4th of July weekend and then I took off a week for Chicago. That's it. The rest of the summer has been spent staring at a computer in some sense or another.

And like I said--it makes me feel good to have a payday and be self-sufficient. But I feel myself cracking under the pressure. The office atmosphere leaves something to be desired. This makes me feel highly overworked and underappreciated.

My summer is gone. I'm stressed. And underappreciated. Like the CitiBank commercials say: "thank you" goes a long way.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design