Ketchup Anyone? [ June 23, 2002, 5:07 pm ]

Just gotta tell about this before I go and conk out for a nap. Yeah....so I was at work this morning. And my boss was CRA-A-A-ABBY. It sucked. He completely bit my head off for leaving the door open for a few seconds. Dropped the f-bomb like 5 seconds in 2 sentences. That's even better than I can do. Damn. So he wasn't too impressed with me.

So anyways....me and Jen the other waitress--she's totally awesome =)--had to change the ketchup dispenser thingy cuz it was empty. And neither of us really knew how to do it. It was in a box and we had to stick the dispenser nozzle on it and put it in it's holder. Easier said than done. For one thing, the bag is like 10 gabillion pounds and was a huge pain to hoist into the holder. So we got that accomplished then we tried to pry the cap off so that the nozzle-thingy could go on, so that ketchup would pour out. The cap seemed to not want to budge, which did not impress either of us. We were trying our damnedest to get that stupid thingy off and it wouldn't come. So finally I throw all my weight into it and succeed in pulling the tight cap off. I was quite impressed with myself...and proud--for about half of a nanosecond.....

WHOOOOOOOOOOOSH! Yeah--that's the sound of a flood of ketchup flooding out of the dispenser and onto the counter. Me and Jen looked at each other and began giggling. Then we grabbed paper towels and tryed to plug the red flood coming out of the stupid container. It didn't work. It kept leaking out. Jen had it all over her hands, just gooping out. (It made fun noises though, which just added to our laughter.) I was trying to mop up the whole lake of ketchup with paper towels. I used nearly a whole roll of them. It was baaaad. So we finally get the nozzle onto the thing and fasten it.

Then I start to clean up the dispenser cuz it was a complete disaster. I was mopping up some of the excess ketchup when the damn nozzle pops off again! I shriek and Jen comes scampering over. She just about dies laughing as we try to get it back on. All I was thinking was "damn--this is just too funny." But also "oooh man--my boss is gonna ki-ill me." I so thought that I was dead.

So finally we get the stupid nozzle back on for real. We made sure it was on--tight. So I begin to clean up the ocean of red that has accumulated on the counter. It looked gross. That much ketchup. Nastiness. The color looked cool, though. Ketchup red is a cool cool color.

So anyways...Jen went into the dining room to get a garbage can--discreetly cuz we were still trying to hide the fact that we wasted like a quarter of a case of ketchup from our boss. As I'm cleaning up, I hear someone behind me. I'm thinking "damn--Jen's fast!" But then I look over and she's just coming through the swinging doors. My boss was behind me. I was thinking I could hide the mess from him if I angled my body just right. Nope.

He saw the mess and made the funniest groan I've ever heard. My amusement lasted about a second, cuz the next thing I know he was screaming at us and swearing like I've never heard him swear before. Not good. He kept hollering "why didn't you grab a bucket?" Ummm......yeah--cuz our hands were full of ketchup, trying to keep more from gushing out, thankyouverymuch.

He was NOT HAPPY. He made it quite clear. For the next hour all he did was glare at the two of us and bang stuff around and slam doors whenever that occassion arose.

Honestly? I'm sorry that I wasted ketchup. I am. We apologizeed--what else can ya do though? BUT--you gotta admit that the situation is SOOO FUNNY. It would only happen to me. Really. Jen and I laughed about it all during our shift. I totally see the humor here. And it was fun! Well--not being soaked in ketchup and cleaning it all up, but laughing about it is fun. Live and learn.

Ciao for now, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My Rockstar Fantasy To: Escape by Enrique Iglesius--I LOVE this song--it's just so fun!

Crush Du Jour: David Beckham--EM!! You have fabulous taste--make me a wallpaper of him please!!!

Happy Thought of the Moment: Lizzie Maguire on the Disney Channel. This show is so funny. I am so much like Lizzie that it's kinda scary.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design