As graduation-y as this sounds...it's true [ August 13, 2004, 6:00 pm ]

When I took a nap this afternoon (which I'm finding to be a daily occurrance--that can't be a good thing) I had a dream that I saw one of my good friends driving down the road. When I waved at them, they just ignored me, then looked back at me like they had no idea who I was.

This scares the shit out of me. My friends are the most important people in the world to me and I value every single one so much. Even the ones that I don't talk to much or see that often.

One of my greatest fears in life is that I'll forget all the amazing people that I've made friends with. Or that they'll forget me. Or both.

I don't think anybody truly realizes just how much of an impact your friends make upon your life. I could be a whole different person if one person wasn't my friend.

It's cheesy, for sure, and definitely cliche' but it's true. A person's friends help to define who one is. I don't want to launch into a whole soliliquy about how each friend has made an impact on my life, but I want to recognize my friends. Because they're all amazing. And they've all helped me to open my mind and discover new things and learn about the world.

If I didn't have my friends, I'd be fucked. As independent as I am, if my friends didn't have my back, I'd either be pounded to a pulp by now or I wouldn't have a spine.

It's just so weird to think about that--about friends and yourself. And the future....

I'm serious as I say that I hope my friends never forget me, even fifty years from now, I hope that they can look at a picture or see a poster from a movie that we saw together or some other souvenier from our friendship and smile.

I can't guarantee that I'll remember everyone I meet as I float through life. I can be confident, though, in the fact that the people who have helped to change me will be tattooed in my mind.

I hope that they can say the same about me. That's the only thing that will chase this fear away.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design