Decorate My Life [ June 29, 2004, 9:21 am ]

It's funny how the littlest things can just totally take you back. The secretary (such a kick-ass person, fyi) had Home Interior booklets on her desk. I, being a domestic-goddess wannabe, started drooling immediately. I am now happily leafing through a small mountain of decorating booklets, contemplating how to spend my next paycheck.

I adore Home Interior. They have quality stuff. It's gorgeous. My house could look like a freakin' art house if I wanted it to. I don't, but that's not the point.

I also really enjoy HI because it brings back so many memories. My mom was a huge HUGE Interior fan when I was younger. I remember when we moved from Negaunee to our apartment in Painesdale, she spent a small fortune on Home Interior stuff to decorate the place because she could. Because it was her own place and nobody could tell her otherwise. It was like her own special independent statement. She'd get the newest booklets after her friends had parties and we'd snuggle on the couch and mark up the pages with all of the stuff we liked. We used to plan out a dream mansion with a different decorating theme in each room. This was the beginning of my "dream big" stage that my mom encouraged so greatly. I'm still in that stage.

After we moved to Chassell, money got tighter and we were pretty much living on the poverty line. Mom struggled to make ends meet, but she still invested a little in decorating, if only to prove that she deserved to have a few indulgences. She did, she still does, but throughout elementary and high school, I saw how much it hurt for her to worry about money. As much as money hurt, though, she found ways to stretch money and provide. She bought from HI, she gave us little treats (a ceramic figurine to help with a collection, a puzzle of a favorite scene from a movie, chocolate on bad days)--little things that proved that we were more wealthy than met the eye.

Leafing through the booklets just now reminded me of all of this. It made me think of the foggy days where Mom and I would describe our dream houses while curled up under huge afghans. It reminded me of decorating our new house, and then decorating the "new" house after our first trailer burned down.

It's so funny how something so little and seemingly insignificant can just flood your mind with memories.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "All That Jazz" from the original Broadway revival cast of Chicago (Bebe Neuwirth is a new idol of mine)

Crush du Jour: John Mayer

Happy Thought of the Moment: extra strength Tylenol, chai lattes, giddiness over Home Interior, Saved tonight, fabulous Friday night pix (turned out SO well), warm blankets, inspiration

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design