Red Hair, Annoying Guys, and a Fabulous Job....Just Another Day for Me! [ August 29, 2002, 12:44 am ]

Wow. I really have to start updating more often. I can't believe that it's been nearly a week since I've last written. And it was even longer for the time before that. How horrible am I? Believe me, I've wanted to sooo many times, but then something comes up and I get crazy-busy. It sucks. I like being busy, but not to the point where I can't even sit down for a few moments and just reflect on my life or vent or just update and be my dorky self. It's so frustrating!!! =/

Lemme just say that Brita filters are a godsend. Really. I can't believe that I drank the water of the University UNFILTERED for 2 freakin' years. It's pretty scary. This filtered stuff is so much better, plus I have the piece of mind knowing that I don't have any icky substances floating around in my ogwa. *grin* I disected mine like 10 minutes ago. (How bored was I???) I almost had a heart attack when I couldn't get it back together. No worries--it lives. Yay!

My big news!!! I finally did it. Finally, finally, FINALLY, FINALLY!!! Yup, after dreaming and complaining and hoping and wishing and annoying the hell out of my friends, I finally have Lola hair. This, of course, means that it's firey red. I LOVE it. I really do. It was soooo awesome. I found the dye in this new store in the mall (Urban Edge, go there, you Marquette people you!), so I bought a couple of containers of dye.

The actual process occurred during SNL on Saturday night. Hannah dyed her hair as well--a really vivid purple. It looks way kick ass. Very her. Very cool. It's so funny when the two of us walk around together. People just stare. This one guy physically stopped us, just so he could study our hair and admire our guts for doing it. I've been getting reactions like that ever since I did it.

K, so some people think what I did was quite irrational and stupid. Some people being mainly my mother. I told her last night that I did it. "WHY? Your hair will be ruined for life. It's not even trendy to do that y'know. People aren't doing that kind of stuff anymore." Right, the day I start taking trendy tips from my mom is the day I also take an eternal vow of silence. Like she knows what's "in." And more importantly, like I care! I did it for me. I just figured "what the fuck" and decided to just go for it. I figured that at the very least my residents would be able to recognize me easier--"hey, there's my AP, the one with the bright cherry red hair." See? I know what I'm doing! Hehehe

Oh Lord. I saw George Costanza yesterday. Since I am positive that I've never mentioned him before (cuz the thought of him makes my whole body do an involuntary dry heave), I suppose that I should clue you in. (Ya better be comfy cuz this could be looong. I'll attempt to shorten it.)

Flashback

K, so the first day of freshman year of college I meet this kid in my class: short, stalky, balding, glasses. The college version of George Costanza. He was in 2 of my classes so we talked about stupid shit. He proceeds to ask me out. No. He asks me out the next day. No. And the next day....nooooo. This guy just doesn't learn. I found him annoying and overly-friendly--trying way too hard. I'm sure you know what I'm talking about. I was QUITE annoyed. So I stop talking to him. Until the end of the semester when I was complaining about struggling with Philosophy--it was a hardass class! (Grr--never EVER take it) So we decided to study together at the library. Yeah...our study session turned into a counseling session for him, where he bitched for at least 2 hours about his problems while I attempted to not fall asleep.

Needless to say, I was quite grateful when the semester ended, as I figured I wouldn't see him ever again. Boy was I wrong.

He called me the first day that the winter semester started. Gaaah. Oh it gets better. He got a job where I worked. I'm still trying to figure out if that was by accident or if he was seriously trying to get closer to me. Either way it freaked me out. Grr. So I am forced to work with him all that semester and sophomore year. It was NOT a pleasant situation. He always tried to hit on me, he never got a clue when I wouldn't look him in the eye or respond with more than 2 syllable answers. Yeah....guys just don't get it sometimes.

So that's the sitch with George. I realize that it doesn't necessarily sound that bad, but this is one guy that I truly don't enjoy talking to, he annoys me sooo much. Usually I can talk to anybody for at least a good 10 minutes. Him? 2 seconds tops. It's baaaad.

End of Flashback

Back to yesterday. I was in the UC fighting the hoards of people. First off, never go to the place where students congregate and purchase books on the first day of class cuz there's a 99% chance that you'll get injured or trampled. As I was fighting crowds, I see George. I kind of wave cuz I do try to be a nice person. He finds it necessary to come galloping over and he attempts to have a 5 minute (at least--it really seemed like an hour to me, I was dying !!) conversation. As he was talking, my old friend Jonathon came over and draped his arms around me. Then he called me his "exclusive lov-ah." (This is classic classic Jon, for those of you who don't know him. He is one of the funniest guys that I know. He is quite blunt and quips jokes all the time. He's a close friend of mine since first year.)

George just stands there looking stunned. "Oh so you mean that I don't even have a chance with her?" Umm...NOOOOOO. I could not believe that he actually said that. Had I not shot him down enough times for him to get a clue. Apparrently not.

This annoys me to no end. I mean, it's nice to know that I'm not a complete ogre and that I am attractive to some, but on the other hand this is George we're talking about here. He's not exactly Abercrombie model material. He's not even KMart model material. Or sock model material. (K, I'll stop being so mean now.)

Alright...topic change. I can;t think about this anymore. Umm...I LOVE my job. Being an AP is so fabulous. Already students are coming to me for help. And every student I've met has seemed really nice and open and friendly. I'm so psyched. This year is going to be so great.

Gotta say this really quick: I had to go to house meetings to introduce myself to the residents. One student's main concert: are you going to hand out condoms? I nearly died laughing. Yes, I am. Apparrently, this is a major concern to some students. Hey, I'll give them condoms. That means that there'll be a few less babies in the world. Go me for helping with population control.

K, I can't type anymore. Literally. I'm making typing errors all over the place. Time for beddy!

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Living Out My Rockstar Fantasy To: Freeze Frame (I made an 80s cd tonight! Eee! Mega psyched!)

Crush Du Jour: Mr. Crush (Cuz I'm pretty sure I saw him today. God, he is so cute.)

Happy Thought of the Moment: having a cd burner, filtered water, paninis, seeing soo many old friends, making new friends, MY RED HAIR, being called Lola, Mr. Crush, Jimmy Fallon's cd (it came out today--buy it), my fabu staff, the awesome residents, Almond Joy, overage checks, high checking account balances, the VMAs on in 2 days (Jimmeeeeeeeeee!!!!), my 80s cd, spreading joy, a clean room, HOT-TUBBING, cloudy fall days, new hoodies (I WILL get one soon), fun and interesting classes, poetry, the kick-ass events coming to campus this fall (Maya Angelou, drag show, Laramie Project, good movies just to name a few), my new posters

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design