Un-packin' it it [ May 06, 2004, 8:38 am ]

So I just want to note the time. 8:38 AM. I've been awake for an hour already. And I'm not working and I don't have to work and I don't have anything pressing to do. I was awoken by the charming noise of campus construction. I'm still trying to figure out why there's so much of it going on. Really--who all is going to utilize the art building? The art majors. All 52 of them. Mwahaha.

I kid. They'll be fabulous when done. Until then I'm sure I'll be woken up every morning because of buzzsaws and jackhammers and the beep-beep-beep-backing uppy sound that big trucks make. I'm charmed.

I'm all moved in, though. Hurrah! I slept on the couch last night because I couldn't remember where I packed my sheets. And, um, boxes are piled up on the mattress as well. Packing is going to sooo much fuuuun. It's alright, though. I've always liked un-packing better than packing. It signifies a new beginning instead of an end.

The apartment's pretty sweet though. I claimed the bedroom with the big dresser. Sorry, Erin dear, but I have so many freakin' clothes. SO many clothes. Even after donating a huge pile to Goodwill in March, I still have a massive wardrobe. The next time I complain that I have nothing to swear...smack me. Smack me HARD.

I ran through the apartment as soon as I got here and squealed. It's all mine. My own fridge, my own oven, my own living room, my own (bitty) bedroom. Ok, so it's Erin's too, but it just feels really good to know that this is officially my space. No subletting, no moving back and forth, no more residence halls. Damn, this feels SO good. As much as I loved my job and loved my experiences in the halls over the past four years, it's definitely time for a change. I have more than 12 square feet to work with. More room to move and stretch. A place to escape, that I can just call my own. I don't have to be social if I don't want. Independence, you are mine!

The only cruddy thing about the new place is there's a grand total of two (count em: T-W-O) lights in this place. One in the kitchen and one in the bathroom. What. The. Fuck. I must now invest in at least 2 or 3 lamps for my room and the living room. I'm not so impressed.

My shopping list for today is massive. Besides groceries, I need to get a bunch of apartment-y type of stuff. It's quite exciting. Plus I want to get the things I could never have in the dorms: bubble bath, candles and alcohol. Yes, alcohol. Because I am legal and because I feel like it's a taboo thing I need to do. That way I can entertain when I want. No worries--it's not like I'm going to turn into a lush that has to pound the bottle every evening. I just want to have some Malibu and Bacardi on hand. I'm so adult.

I think I'm gonna attempt to go back to bed. I'm getting used to the construction ruckus.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: The Grim Adventures of Billy and Mandy

Crush du Jour: Usher

Happy Thought of the Moment: my new apartment, shopping today (!!!), my fabulous friends who helped me move (God, they rock SO much--thank youuu!)

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design