Un-Jersey Girl [ March 26, 2004, 6:29 pm ]

Random thought of the moment: my Pepsi tastes like it's been spiked with Bacardi. Not that I'm complaining or anything. It's actually more yummy. Mmmm......

Yup, it really does taste Bacardi-flavored. I'm so random.

I saw Jersey Girl this afternoon. I cannot believe I'm saying this, but a Kevin Smith movie made me cry. The guy who made invented Jay and Silent Bob and directed Clerks--yeah, one of his movies made me tear up. And more than once too. I am such a sap.

I cried at the beginning when Jennifer Lopez's character dies. It was really sad. Especially when you see Ben's character in the hallway crying uncontrollably.

Then I cried when Ollie was confessing to the baby. (She was SUCH a cute baby, too. Em and I were all like "oooh!" every time they showed a shot of her.) Here's a secret: Ben Affleck can really truly act. For this little monologue they didn't cut away from his face and you could see the tears forming and rolling down his cheek. It was heart-breaking.

And then there was the simple moment at the end when George Carlin said "I'm afraid of dying alone." It was so simple, it just wretched at me--it rang too true. That's my greatest fear. And to see him almost on the verge of tears because of these five words....it was too much. TOO much.

The movie was really good. It didn't preach, it had real characters, it had a lot of funny moments, it was subtle in all the right places and just the right amount of overwhelming in others. And there was a production number towards the end that was freakin' hilarious. You all should see it for that part alone.

It got to me so much because when the mom died, I started to think about my life. My mom almost died giving birth to me, and then it nearly happened again with Katy. The thought of not having my mom is terrifying and paralyzing. I have no idea what'd I do if she was gone.

It also made me think of what would happen if Mom had died. Would Dad have raised me? Would he still have been in love with my mom if he couldn't have had her anymore? What kind of relationship would my dad and I have had IF this had happened, especially since this rings so close to home for me? Would he love me? What kind of regrets would he have? Where would I be now and how would I be?

It's such a mind trip to think how completely different life can turn out due to one or two small changes. It's exciting and terrifying at once.

I cannot believe a Kevin Smith movie has been such a catalyst for me.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "My Stupid Mouth" by John Mayer--I'm jamming to the Detroit '03 concert to pump myself up for this weekend!

Crush du Jour: Ben Affleck, Will Smith

Happy Thought of the Moment: Green Bay tomorrow(!!!!!), the silly feeling you get knowing that someone may like you, the thought of good shopping, old crushes, my "She Wants to Move" mix, Milkshake song, McD's shakes, underroos, being done with that dumb nomination form, feeling accomplished, John Mayer

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design