This Life [ November 15, 2004, 11:39 pm ]

"Be life long or short, its completeness depends on what we live for."

- david jordan

So lately mortality has been on my mind. With good reason--two car crashes and a couple of visits to the ER will do that to you. (Yes I said a couple of visits--I was back there again tonight for another friend who appears to be quite ill...at least she thinks she is.)

I was pretty shaken up after my friends landed in the hospital. I'm even more shaken after hearing about the Chassell tragedy. Two high schoolers are dead because of a stupid dare (I think--that's the biggest rumor I've been hearing).

It seems like these two events are not just coincidental in timing. Maybe someone up there is trying to warn us. This sounds a bit psycho, but maybe this is a public service announcement to me and all of my friends and family to be a little more careful, exercise a little more caution and live life a little more to the fullest. I'm a big believer in things happening for a reason.

These two events have instilled the fear of God in me--at least a little more.

And in a way I absolutely hate it. I don't hate God. But I hate the circumstances that have been created. People have hurt so much because of the things that have recently occurred. My heart aches for the familes and friends that are suffering because of these things. And because of all of the other seemingly senseless tragedy that's happening in the world.

I guess I'll just have to chalk this up to yet another life lesson. And one learned the hard way, through exhaustion and sleep-deprivation and bad dreams.

Life isn't always fair. And it may not be as long as we think it may be. I think we lose sight of that and get caught up in deadlines and details and relationships. I'm not going to live forever. But I will thrive in this life. It just sometimes takes a cruddy thing or two to remind me of what's really important in this life.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design