Wish I was a Queen Bee, Instead of a Yooper Wannabe [ April 30, 2004, 11:17 pm ]

So I hate meetings. Hate them. I decided that today when I had THREE in the course of three hours. One would think that with the end of the year would come the end to meetings. Yeah, not so much. They all feel repetitive after a while. While the people always make for fun, the information just gets to be same-old same-old even if we're talking about something I have no idea about.

Damn, I must really be burned out. Ugh.

Em and I did our yearly tradition tonight: dinner and a movie to celebrate the end of the year. Upfront and Mean Girls. Good food, great movie. Tina Fey is my new idol. I've said it before, but she truly is. Her script was so dead-on with high school and humor and life. The parental parodies were completely scary, but I'm sure that they're spot-on. High school life in the movie was actually real--the people looked and acted real, unlike so many of the teen movies I've seen. This is most definitely in the 10 Things category. It could surpass it actually. I may need to see it again to judge for sure.

The funny thing about the movie was that when it started I was like "aww, high school, I miss it sooo much." About 10 minutes into it I remembered the cattiness and pettiness and immaturity that ensued with classmates and "drama."

It's really kind of funny. Looking back on high school from my perspective now, I've told my college friends that I wouldn't go back. That still holds true. I wasn't very confident, I had no direction, I felt like I was a puppet, that I had no mind. While this still remains true, I do miss some parts of high school. I had license to be immature. Because we were, even though we wouldn't admit it. I have great memories of fundraisers and the class trip and silly class moments.

I think what it really is is that I feel like I was robbed of a "real" high school experience because Chassell was so damn small. 16 people in a graduating class does not a movie experience make. And while I'm completely grateful that there wasn't cliques and burn books and queen bees and (as many) scandals in my school, there also wasn't dances (or at least good or successful dances), talent shows, real plays or even cute boys. Yup, cute boys were not grown in Chassell. Or in the Keweenaw, now that I think about it. Or really in the UP. I've met maybe 3--THREE--cute Yooper boys in my life. And let's not forget that I've lived in the UP all my life. Gaah.

High school wasn't bad, it wasn't great, it was...it was freakin' high school. There are the warm fuzzy moments that were captured in the yearbook and in my mind. There are the moments that I wish I can forget--like all of middle school. It was more good than bad. But I wish that it was have been more enriching. I couldn't have done anything different, except maybe been less of a dork. It could only perhaps have come with being at a bigger high school. Which I'm not so sure I would have wanted. It would have been nice to have the experience, because then maybe I could have appreciated Chassell more. But I didn't. No use in me spending any more time here whining.

I get to be up at 6:30 tomorrow morning for graduation shiznit. I'll whine about that instead. Pity me. I get to assist with breakfast and then sit through a 3-hour graduation ceremony. Then work at the desk for six hours and pack. Remind me why I should wake up tomorrow. Uuugh. Wish me luck. Wish me something.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Comedy Central

Crush du Jour: Johnny Depp, Dane Cook, the pretty boy in Girls

Happy Thought of the Moment: good movies, good smelling cologne, senior crawl, seeing tons of my friends last night, seeing my friends be so excited to see me (total ego booster), polishing my nails, Tina Fey (my hero), beginning to pack, cash from Housing (woo hoo!), "whoo-di-whoooo!", inventing drinks, hugs, cute staff picture, dancing, Remies, meeting new fun people

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design