Potter-Philes Unite!!! [ June 21, 2003, 11:26 am ]

I am not feeling at all clever or fun right now, but I want to write about the experience I had last night.

Uuuhhhh...I feel like I have a hangover. Really. My stomach hurts, my throat hurts and my head's pounding. But I didn't party it up last night.

Yeah, right, that would mean I'm cool. No, you know what Em and I did last night?

We waited in line for the new Harry Potter book.

I'm not even kidding you.

B.Dalton opened at 12:01 for the people who had reserved copies of Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix. And Em and I were like "ooh we should stand in line--it'll be fun." Our reasoning was that there was nothing else to do on a Friday night in Marquette. (This, sadly, is sooo true.)

So we get to the mall and I'm turning the corner and I asked Em how many people she thought were already going to be there. I figured there'd be like 3 hardcore fans there already. That was what she was thinking too. We didn't think anyone was going to be dorky enough to stand in line for 2 hours for a book.

The parking lot was empty. Completely.

We were the first ones in line!!!!!

Wahoooooo! We're officially the biggest dorks in Marquette. (we talked about this on the way to the mall--we know we're dorks, but we embrace our dorkiness and are completely blissful and happy with that fact.) We parked the car and plunked ourselves down in front of the doors, revelling in the fact that, yes, we were the first people in line for the new book.

About 3.2 seconds after we plopped down, a couple that looked a couple years older than us walked over. The woman looked completely giddy to be there. The guy....if he was pumped he contained his enthusiasm. They were really cool. They reminded me of people who met at Michigan Tech--total dorks, but secure in that fact, which makes them cool, which makes them fall in love with each other. (If you knew Techies, you'd know what I was talking about.)

To pass the time--it was only 10 pm--we played Harry Potter uno. We taught the couple (names Kate and Jason) how to play since they had no idea. Jason kicked our butts. I, as always, got screwed. I ALWAYS get screwed when playing Uno. All the "draw 4's" and "skip" cards always get directed at me. Grr.

Soon after we started playing, a truck pulled up with 3 girls and a mom in it. At first I was semi-annoyed with the girls. They were high school age, but they were acting immature. Or so I thought. (Which--duuuh--I really shouldn't have been thinking. We were waiting for the new CHILDREN'S book. Duurrrrh.) But I was suffering from scarf envy because they all had long maroon and gold scarves. Boo. I want one so bad.

Lemme just say--first impressions are horrible at times. I asked the girls about the scarfs and the hoodie (one of them had a "Burmstang Quidditch" hoodie) and us and them immediately bonded. They turned out to be some of the sweetest girls! They were so excited for this new book. They talked enthusiastically about their Potter obsessions and how they love Daniel and Harry Potter. They were like younger versions of Em and I, in a way. It was so cute. We decided that we would form an alliance once the doors opened, to ensure that we, indeed, would be the first ones to get the book.

I should add that mine and Emily's little prediction? Yeah--TOTALLY WRONG. There was not just like 3 hardcore fans coming out for this thing. At 11 a huuuuge group of kids came to wait in line. That was annoying. They were all shrieky and loud. Grr. Some parents. (They all just laughed and let their kids go hell-wild around the doors and parking lot. Gooood parenting. Goooooooooooooood parenting--you get a gold star. *sarcasm*) After annoying kids came, the line got HUGE. HUUUUGE. I'm not even joking. It ended up snaking around the Kohl's construction towards Blockbuster. There was at least 200 or 300 people there before they opened the doors. It was nuts.

The enthusiasm was really contagious though. You can't help but get hyped up when a bunch of other people are excited. It's captivating. It's an awesome feeling.

But with that enthusiasm came the fact that people may get a little out of hand. That kind of scared me. I forsaw visions of someone getting trampled due to an overzealous parent. (Helloooo--anyone remember Cabbage Patch Dolls or Tickle Me Elmo mania???) And the group of us wanted to ensure that we got in first, since we'd waited in line for 2 freakin' hours. (Our butts got numb from the pavement, thankyouverymuch.) Luckily, Em had paper (we brought stuff so we wouldn't get bored--magazines, Uno cards, paper to draw with.....) so we made a sign that said

WE WERE HERE FIRST!!! OPEN THOSE DOORS SECOND....PLEASE! (thank you from a couple of grateful Gryffindors!)

We kept holding it up so that the bookstore people would see it.

We didn't need to worry though. When they opened the doors for the media people (yes, media people were there--radio, newspaper and TV) the lady saw the sign and laughed. She was just like "don't worry--you were here before I was!" That was cool.

So when the doors finally were opened--it was kind of funny cuz a hush fell over the growing, impending, LARGE crowd. A

And we got in fiiiirst. Lalala. The newspaper photographer got a shot of us entering the mall. (note to self: buy paper to see if we're in it...)

And we were the first people in Marquette to have the book. That's kind of cool, really. Especially when I saw how huge the line was.

Then I got interviewed for the news. I wish I could say that I was eloquent, but I wasn't. I think I said the word "series" like 4 times in a 15 second time span. Gaah.

But we got the book. THat was all that mattered.

As we were walking out, Em suggested that we read "excerpts" to the large line of people still waiting for their books. Heh heh. We're so evil. We didn't though.

All you'd really have to do is read the chapter titles. Shiiit. I read them and now I'm afraid to start the book. I KNOW I'm gonna be sucked in--they're written so well. And I know a lot of shit is going to go down in this book. Just read the chapter titles--you'll see what I mean.

Gaah.

I was so proud of myself--I had about 300 pages left of "Goblet of Fire" and I told myself I wouldn't start the new book until I finished up the 4th book. (I was rereading it to refresh my memory.) I finished it last night. Lalala. I was up until 3:30 reading, but it's all good.

Now when my car is getting serviced this afternoon I can kick back and enjoy Order of the Phoenix. Lalala.

Now if my headached would go away that would be superb.

Aight, I must jet.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Cali Love" by Tupac

Crush du Jour: Jimmy Fallon, Sean Biggerstaff

Happy Thought of the Moment: new Harry Potter book, being in the front of huge-ass lines, the smell of new books, pretty colors, new friends, Uno (Em lost ultimately--lalala), funny signs, sorting hats, reading really late, pizza, boiled eggs, sleeeep, being on the new, scarfs, plans to make hoodies, "Wood Groupies"

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design