Monday Morning Musings [ May 17, 2004, 10:49 am ]

So I think I'm in love with George Michael. Or at least his voice. Is it wrong that I find him slightly sexy? Gaah. And I won't even get into my new obsession--Queer Eye for the Straight Guy. Yes, I realize I'm about 11 months late jumping on this train, but I've watched it on and off for the past year, it's just recently that I've realized that I'd marry any of the gay men on that show. They're adorable and hilarious. If they want marriage benefits, I'd be the first in line to help them out.

Actually...now that I'm thinking about gay men and marriage...Last night on MTV the old DJ guy (you know--the one that shouldn't be there anymore because he's been around since the days of the dinosaurs, but I digress...) was in Boston because Cambridge is becoming the first county actually allow same-sex couples to apply for marriage licenses beginning midnight last night. What a beautiful, wonderful thing. At least some people realize how important this is and are giving the homosexual world the respect it deserves. I cried when I was watching it on tv; I was so happy for them. It almost makes me wish that I were gay just so I could go up there to exercise the new-found rights. Almost.

(Some of my friends think I'm a gay may trapped in a woman's body. I love this theory; it cracks my shit up. But that's a whole other entry.)

Mmm...Snickers and cold water are the greatest brunch ever. I'm hoping that the caffeine from the Snickers will jump-kick my energy level because right now I'm struggling. I don't think it helps that I've been working on the same. damn. project. for 3 days. I thought I finished the f-ing thing on Friday--I even stayed late to make sure I got it done! But nooo, there's a whole other part that I didn't realize existed and so now I'm running through this massive list of at least a thousand names and SSNs--I have to look up every freakin' name to see if they're enrolled. Grr. I'm so not impressed. At least I only have an hour left.

I applied for a couple of credit cards today. I feel so grown up. I really should have gotten one a few years ago, just to establish credit, but it probably would have been a bad thing. I am such a shopaholic. It's going to be good to exercise self-control. Lord knows I need to. Plus I want to have a back-up for when I road-trip this summer. With me emergencies are almost a certainty, so I want to be on the safe side.

And for some reason I'm freaking out about money issues. Even though I really have no reason to. I have no bills this summer since I paid for my apartment already. The only bill I truly have is my celly bill. Oooh. So I really don't have a reason to complain. The only thing I could think of that could make me freak out is my insurance that's due in June. I hate that it's so damn much--over $600 for 6 months--so I think that's a big factor in this charming freak-out du jour. That and the fact that I owe money for concert tickets and I must save for the up-coming road trips. (A week in Chicago ain't gonna be cheap, that's for damn sure. And I know I'll splurge when I'm in Detroit with Joe too. And gas--what the fuck is wrong with the prices? Shouldn't it be like half of what it normally is? Grr.) But I shouldn't be worried because I'm working full-time between both of my jobs and I figured out what my paychecks are going to look like. Happiness there. Too bad the big checks won't start rollin' in for a couple of weeks. That's probably it--because I won't start actually seeing the benefits of my hard work for a bit. But my bills are paid and I'm not going to starve. So I shouldn't freak out. Bad me. *slap on the wrist*

I still love Snickers. Mmm.

So starting today I'm officially going to "get healthy." This means no more pop (unless it's a special occassion--which I'll define as I go along, but for the moment means a fun movie or drinks with friends) and no more fast food (*sniff* bye bye, Taco Bell). I'm going to eat healthier and I'm going to begin working out. I got a PEIF pass and I plan on utilizing it at least 3 times a week. I have the time, I usually have the energy, there's no excuse. I'm not enjoying my double chin or my tummy so I'm going to do something about it. Plus I'm so disgustingly out of shape. I walked up the stairs to the office this morning and I was out of breath. Because I went up three flights of stairs. Yup, that was the motivation I needed to get moving. So give me encouragement if you see me. Don't nag, don't lecture, just pat me on the back or give me a hug or some words of happiness so I know I have allies in this. I'm not doing it to become sex on legs, I'm doing it to be healthy. It's been a long time coming.

Damn, this is long. I need to get back to the stupid lists. Grr.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To; "Champagne Supernova" by Oasis (this song makes me want to make lots of mixed cds)

Crush du Jour: old-school boy

Happy Thought of the Moment: LaunchCast radio, motivation, 90s songs, comfy chairs, yummy dinner tonight, shiny pretty nails, Pearberry, cold water, bagels with cream cheese, Sketcher sandals, John Mayer

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design