What a load of shit [ October 07, 2004, 6:53 pm ]

Arrrgh!

I'm flipping through W, which is like Vogue for the elite, and I'm getting so. frustrated. by the whole thing.

The whole thing being this magazine.

The sole purpose is to make materialistic people want to buy more materialistic things. It's strictly for the beautiful people. The rich beautiful people.

It pisses me off. What's the point of it all? Who cares what the latest couture is? Or if your handbag is from this season? Or if you have the latest shoes from the Paris shoes? Who? CARES?

Seriously. There is far more to life than materialistic shit like this.

And, yes, I am a materialistic person. But I'm more materialistic in the sense that I must have the newest John Mayer cd or the newest films on DVD. I'm not about to go out and blow two grand on a pair of hideous boots.

That's another thing--all of the trends are completely hideous. Completely. They are Ug.Ly. They're not something that you'd see on the streets or in restaurants. Why? Because they're unwearable. Because most clothing has more than three inches of fabric and some shiny strands to it. And also because not everyone can be a size zero. But I won't even go there.

Obviously this magazine is geared towards the socialites of the world--which is like, what?, maybe .15% of the population overall. It's disgusting. It's such a small amount, yet some people think that these people run the world.

And to a certain extent, they probably do. But it's not the real world. Most people don't have more money than god. And most of us certainly don't care if a Louis Vitton bag is out of style. There are people who have--gasp--never heard of Vitton. (Sometimes I wish I was one of them.) There are people who barely eat each day. And we have socialites prancing around worrying about how many martinis they're going to drink that night and which purse would best match their Jimmy Choos.

I never want to be a socialite. I don't want my brain to turn to mush.

My point? I think it's garish that some people have so much money to burn. If you're rich, yes, be trendy (even if it's fugly), be happy. But do something to help out the world. Make your mark on more than your checkbook.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design