And the Lesson Here Is???? [ October 23, 2003, 11:35 am ]

So yesterday all the ResLife RAs and APs had to go to this Leader in Residence thingy. HAD to go. My boss called me exactly 24 hours before the event and said that it was a "last minute" thing but she hoped that "we were able to arrange our schedules to make it."

Read: I'll be very very very very very very very very very very uber-disappointed if you don't go to this special occassion to learn and grow as people and professionals.

So yeah. All of us went...except my boss. She had class. She was sad.

I was sad that I couldn't nap during my super-special Wednesday nap time.

So we go to this thingy with the leader in residence. Mary-Francis something or other. It sounded like a nun's name really. I had heard that she was a really good speaker. The word "amazing" came up a couple of times from fellow SLFP-ers. So I was psyched to see her and hear from her.

We ended up doing this thing. I think it was an object lesson of sorts. Yeah.

We all had to go into another room and get in groups of 8. Of course my staff decided to all clump together. They're losers sometimes. *sarcasm* (We all know how much I love my staff. We tight we tight.) I decide to go in a group with a bunch of people from other staffs. Hehe--the hottie RA was in my group. Whee! I was way pumped about that.

The point of the activity was to for a really tight circle. (Oh darn I had to squeeze with the cutie. Oh darn oh darn....) One person was an "outie" and the other 7 were a "tight-knit community." The outie was "scum" and would destroy our community if we let them in.

I think we can all see where this is going when I'm in a tight-knit community.

The first outie tried to physically tried to elbow, coerce or tickle their way in. It didn't work.

The second outie tried to verbally coerce us to let her in. She sounded so sad. SO sad. By the end my group decided to let her. Our reasoning was that we were nice people and we like the scum. Maybe we could change this so-called scum.

So the "leader" asks the groups how they did--if they kept out the "scum." The first groups cheered. We all looked at each other like "ummm....."

She came to my group and asked us how we did. They all forgot how to talk. So I said that we decided to be an open and accepting community, that we loved our scum.

Her reaction? She played world's smallest violin and said (I quote) "wah wah wah. You guys lose. You're out."

We were banished from the room. Because we accepted our lovable Laura scum.

Ummm...ok.

We were persecuted because we were nice?

This goes against EVERYTHING we were taught this summer.

I want my two weeks spent on training back. Because this "leader" just killed everything we learned in those two weeks in two minutes.

How is that possible?

It was fine though. Our accepting group decided that we were actually the winners of this little excercise. We became a clique on our own. We sat at a table together and stuck our tongues out at the "winner" groups.

For we KNEW that we were winners.

It was funny too. We were kind of bitter about being banished, so Lina whipped out her computer and projected for the world to see:

"WHAT WE LEARNED: WHEN WE ACCEPT PEOPLE WE LOSE."

Hehe--at least we got a kick out of it.

Really, I think that this little session-o-learning fell short for the whole ResLife group. There were some good points made by Mary-Francis-Sister-Namer person. But I think that the Sister-Leader person needs to figure out the lesson a little better, because really. Isn't it BETTER to be accepting? It is in my world. That's what I've always been taught. That's my life philosophy.

And that's what I plan to go on doing, no matter what some whiny leader says. Hopefully others will too.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' out My RockStar Fantasy To: "perfect time of day" by howie day

Crush du Jour: Mmmmm....the hottie R.A.

Happy Thought of the Moment: having fun no matter what, cute little notes, purple pens, laughing, hoodies, easy class periods, Starbucks coupons, getting mail, socializing with residents, fruit pizza, inspiring people, Matrix-y jackets, Full Throttle on DVD, gossip, Border Grill, dinner with friends, World Cup this weekend!!!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design