Feeling Infinite [ May 27, 2004, 10:25 am ]

Mmmmm....bagel and chai. So good. So worth being five minutes late. (It was the bad parking that made me the other five minutes late. Really.)

I'm in a really good mood. I have nothing to complain about. And I love everything. And everybody. I wonder if this is how Ghandi and Mother Theresa felt all the time. It would explain why they wanted to save the world. With how I'm feeling, I think I could wrestle a bull and win, then jet to Italy and do a shopping spree after feeding ten thousand homeless people.

"I feel infinite."

I'm reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower right now. I love how it's written--a series of letters from a kid in high school. It's riveting. Sucked me right in. Last night I was reading and he said that infine quote. That captures how I'm feeling right now. Even though I'm at the office and there's next to nothing to do, I doubt anything could dampen my mood. I just feel....content/happy/exuberant/enchanted/dorky/giddy at the moment.

Maybe the 80s station has something to do with that....

I think it has to do with my friends.

Last night Emily came over and we grilled chicken on a faux-George Foreman grill. And we didn't burn down my apartment. And it was edible. And gooood. She brought Pillsbury flaky layer biscuits, which are fast climbing the list of my favorite things. She also made me a John Mayer magnet. (Current count: 2. And beautiful they are.) I *heart* Em. I really don't know what I'd do if we had went to different colleges or even hadn't become friends. She's been one of the biggest influences in my life thus far--the voice of reason when I'm freaking out, the accomplice for silly schemes, the shoulder when things suck, the mother-figure when I decide to be dumb.

I'm being tangental. I'm sure I've painted a vivid enough picture, so I'll shut up about Em.

Then into the wee hours of last night I hung out with Dinkel and Brett. First off, I'm suffering apartment envy because Manda's apartment is so much cuter than mine. That may have something to do with the fact that she's an art major though.

It was a lot of fun. We sat there and reminisced about high school. About how much it sucked. At least that's what I got out of it.

I think that's why maybe I'm so content right now. I think I made peace with my high school problems last night: the cheerleading coach, the insecurities, the floating, the cattiness, the pettiness--all. Of. It.

I'm not who I was in high school and that makes me so happy. I'm not fighting for an identity, I'm doing what makes me happy. I've finally adopted the philosophy of "if you like me cool, if not fuck you." I tried that in high school and couldn't wrap my mind around it. Now it comes naturally. Maybe because of maturity. Maybe because I've met too many assholes in college to give it a second thought.

While I'm grateful for my high school experiences and all that they've rendered for me, talking last night cemented the fact that I never want to go back.

Add clarity to the list of emotions that I'm feeling today.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Not in Love" by Enrique "hands man" Iglesias

Crush du Jour: Alan Cumming, John Mayer

Happy Thought of the Moment: good times, yummy food, that schliegen-gold liquor that Manda and I shot last night, concert tonight, fun weekend plans, three-day weekend (!!!!), looking cute, chai tea made with milk, flaky biscuits, good-smelling cologne

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design