Channeling Lucy [ June 15, 2003, 6:18 pm ]

I am one lazy ass. I don't feel like doing anything. I just want to sit here and watch cartoons and curl up under my blanket and be lazy. But I feel so bad for doing that. I KNOW that I could be doing more constructive stuff.

BUT...I shall give myself props. While I was quite the lazy mofo yesterday, I did motivate myself to clean my room. Yes, you heard that right--I cleeeeeeaned my roooooooooom. For real. Not that fakey job I usually do where I make the bed, hang up a couple of shirts and pretend that I cleaned. I hardcore cleaned. From the desk to under the bed to the closet to the whole floor. I can see the carpetting again. It's amazing. I have so much more space now that I don't have to do a sporadic tango around the mounds of clothes and clusters of cds to avoid bruising or breaking an apendage. I'm quite proud.

The good things about cleaning?

A.) A zen feeling that comes over me when looking at how big my room is. It's fabulously calming.

B.) I found my Christina cd. I'd been tearing my hair out over it. It's a new classic--buy Stripped, I'm telling you you'll love it no matter what kind of music you like. So yeah--I found that.

C.) TONS of change. I'm rich I'm rich! I found like a dollar and a half in change spread around my floor. My new piggy bank sounds so happy when I shake the change in it now. (I'm channeling Lucy here. Hehe.)

D.) I found presents! OK, so they're not presents, they're stuff I bought before and forgot about. Among the things found: cuuute pink dangly earrings, Evita on DVD (woohooo!), and the Counting Crows ("August and Everything After") cd that I bought after the concert and promptly lost.

After I cleaned, I scrapbooked for a good 3 hours. It's a very relaxing thing for me. It's zen because I take these pictures that I've been happily clicked at random moments and I make it into something I know that I'm proud of. It's time consuming and detail-oriented, but I adore it so much. It's creating calm from chaos, in a sense. I'm channeling my inner crafty-goddess and I love it. I was psyched last night cuz I finally was able to do the layouts from the Keweenaw road trip me and my friends took in March (see previous entry about that little adventure), plus I got through the Counting Crows concert layouts. That was my goal.

Now I have to figure out how to make 3 more rolls of film fit in like 12 pages. Gaah.

Friday night was sooo fun! Lemme just say. I saw my boss (from the dorms)earlier last week and she was saying how we should go and see Finding Nemo. This is a rarity for her, she never goes to the theater to see movies--she thinks it's kind of a waste of money. Plus we hadn't really seen each other since the beginning of May and we really missed each other. So we decided to go to the movies. It somehow snowballed into a girly night with me, my boss, Davide' (dubbed "the loud one"--she's louder than me....at times), and Monique. We went to Applebees for dinner and ended up laughing for 2 hours straight. Then we went to see the movie. Davide' was soooo freakin' loud. I'm just thankful that I wasn't sitting directly next to her. I think I told her to shut up 5 times. Gotta love that girl.

It was just so nice. We were all like "this was so fun--I haven't been out in a while." Apparently we're all social hobbits this summer. :p I have a feeling this was merely the first time this summer that there'd be a Lady's Night. Thank god.

My boss said something so great. "You know you're true friends when you haven't seen them in a while, yet when you finally see them again they click and pick up where they left off." That summed up Friday night.

*warm fuzzies*

Hoooooly shit. I just realized that it's like halfway through June. Where the fuck has this summer gone? Wow. In 6 weeks I'll be back in Hunt, doing the whole parapro training thang. I can't wait. We're doing a staff retreat. I'm sooo psyched about it. You know what we're doing?

White water rafting!!!!!!!

AHHHHHHHHHH!!!! This has been a dream of mine for a good 7 years now. I've wanted to raft for a looong time, and it's going to be so much more fun because it'll be with my beloved staff. I am beyond geeked about this.

*deep breath*

Hehe

So today--obviously Father's Day. I decided to be a good daughter and paint my dad a mug at my beloved HotPlate as a gift for him. I went to see him today and I gave him his present. I also gave him a card. I wrote a message on the inside that said something like "I know I'm not the greatest or most perfect daughter, but I love you and I pray that our relationship will grow and be strengthened." Something like that. He was happy to see me. And he kept the corny jokes to a bare minimum. But I think he cared more about his stuffed Taz than about my present. And he just laughed at the card. Granted the printed message was kinda silly but what I wrote I meant. And he kind of just brushed it aside. And I had to HOLLER at him to actually open the gift. I just don't know. I really do want a better relationship with dad, but it doesn't seem like he really cares. Maybe that talk I had rang a little too deep and he doesn't really care anymore.

Who knows. All I know now is that I tried. I offered a gift as an olive branch for a stronger relationship. I did my part. Now I think it's up to him. I want a better relationship with the man, but if he isn't going to do his part, then why should I bother? I've had many conversations with God and my mom and my friends about the past and I'm moving on. This was just another part of the healing process. I've done all I can.

oooh! Voicemail! Hurrah!

Gaah--I hate when I'm checking my voicemail and there's an incoming call. It's like a small battle--listen to the message or answer the phone? Which is the right one to do? I'm always just assuming that the caller will leave a voicemessage, which equals happiness for me. Hehe.

Yeah, I'm a dork.

I'm like eternally hungry and thirsty today. I've been craving anything sweet and mowing down sugary substances like there's no tomorrow. It's sad. And I've been gulping water too. That's probably cuz of all the sugar I'm consuming, now that I think of it. Oops. My bad.

:p

Aight, I'm gonna run to Taco Bell. Mmmmm.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Candy" by Mandy Moore (old-schooool! When's her new cd coming out?)

Crush du Jour: hottie host at Applebees Friday night (hook me up Davide'!!!)

Happy Thought of the Moment: flip flops, breezes, cruising, HotPlate, clean room, squishy octopus toy, Girls Night, blondies, painting, good books, sleeping in, pasta salad, cooking with Monique, cute pix, scrapbooking, quarters, water, anything with sugar, washed dishes,zen feeling, Music Choice tv stations, movie popcorn, dressing up, funky hair, new tanktop, minty color, sarongs, voicemails, lunch with my mentor, paying the HUGE celly bill, payday this week, Harry Potter #5 out midnight Friday!!!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design