Celly Suckage [ June 06, 2003, 2:53 pm ]

I'm beginning to think that God truly did stick me on this planet to be everyone's entertainment. Or to have others really appreciate that their situations can't be that bad. Cuz right now I'm feeling like God's outhouse on a hot summer day.

I woke up today thinking that it wouldn't be such a bad day--how could it be, it's the weekend for me? Then I got dressed and my halter snagged on my nose-stud somehow (I'm still trying to figure that one out...). It was quite painful. I think I howled out of pain. And the little bump that was magically going away suddenly popped back up. It's not nearly as bad as it looked the first time, but it looks a little swollen, a little unwell.

Then I met my mommy and sister for lunch and mom brought down my mail--including my cell phone bill. I was a little anxious to get it because I knew it was gonna be high, I didn't know how many minutes I'd used up.

NOTHING prepared me for what I actually saw as the total, though.

(you ready for this?)

$185.74

I almost fainted in my car when I saw that. I felt lightheaded and I swear I saw stars twinkling around my eyelids. I drove immediately over to my provider, demanding an explanation. If it was right, I wanted to know WHY. I was trying to remain calm and considerate of the stressed salesperson, but I was just a little upset. I don't think I yelled at her at least, so that's good...

It turns out that I didn't even use up all my minutes--I was nowhere near my mark. So then, why was my bill so high?

Two words: Long-distance.

It KILLED me. All those late-night convos with Joe? Yeah--over a hundred dollars worth of them because I didn't know I didn't have coverage in the Detroit area.

Damn me for being so naive and not realizing that my coverage didn't go that far.

But FUCK ALL-TEL for not fully explaining my coverage and THEN raping me of my money.

In a way, this is a valuable...if not expensive...lesson for me. Always clarify, and know what I'm getting myself into. So in that respect, this is a good experience. It just sucks that it costs so much.

It's kind of funny--I've NEVER had so many fucking money problems in my life until this summer: first the stupid speeding ticket, then the money to a friend cuz I accidentally bumped his car ($400 for that--I don't know if I've mentioned it before--long story, but I'm now $400 poorer), now this celly bill. All I can say is thank god for my savings account. Otherwise I'd probably be prostituting myself for quarters to get the money. Haha.

On the bright side, it was really nice to see my family. And they gotta come back on Monday cuz Katy has orientation for NMU. Hurrah! Excitement about that.

Damn, Brett knows just what to say to make me feel better--Chinese food and movie night for us. "We'll drown our sorrows in egg rolls and lo mein." I love my friends. They're so great.

And it's gonna rain. I'm happy about that. Yaaay! =)

Aight, I'm gonna clean or read or something--I gotta work off this stressful energy that's jolting around my system.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: 6th Avenue Heartache by the Wallflowers

Crush du Jour: Ashton

Happy Thought of the Moment: hugs, friends, rain, candles, soothing music, piano playing, venting, seeing the fam, working on boards, flowers, colorful nature, feeling poetic, Moulin Rouge, musicals in general, Cribs on MTV, cold cereal, gigantic cinnamon rolls, hawaiin prints, sarong, sleeping in, voicing my opinion and standing up for myself

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design