Something I Can't Explain [ May 20, 2004, 12:57 am ]

The lightning outside right now is completely amazing. There was one streak that darted across the campus sky and lit the clouds on fire with its brilliance. Now the bolts look like they're playing tag and zig-zagging across the sky. It's so wonderful. This is why I adore thunderstorms and spring in the U.P.

My friends and I went to see Shrek 2 tonight. I'm a dork, I like to see things on opening night. It makes me feel special. It was so fuckin' hilarious. And really clever. I adore fairy tales, we all know this. I like it even more when people can put interesting and intriguing spins on this. Which is why I love the first one so much. The second's even better. I left the theater and my stomach hurt from laughing. That's all I'm gonna say. Go see it. I want to watch it again. Like now. Hopefully this weekend....

I got back from the movie and there were two messages from Joe. He was babbling about some deal for Cedar Point tickets and bus fare and "a bunch of fags." Um, ok. I called him back to figure out what was going on and got the same spiel as was on the machine. We'd ride down to Cedar Point on a bus with a bunch of gay men and spend the whole day at the park during gay day and get really drunk at some point. How that figures into me getting my ass on roller coasters is beyond me. Like I'd be more likely to get my ass on the Millenium Force if I've done shots of tequila. Not likely. Unless you want to see me turn green and whine for the rest of the day. Then maybe. But that really doesn't sound like the Krissy version of amusement. Hmm.

What it boils down to is that if we do this, there's no way in hell that we'd make it back to Detroit in time for the Guster/Ben Folds/Rufus Wainwright show that I've been dying to go and see. I think that it's fate that it's in Detroit the same weekend that I am. Joe doesn't think so. So instead I'll be riding roller coasters with a gaggle of gay men. And people wonder why I don't have a boyfriend.

I am so weak. And so disappointed. Granted, I'm going to three other great (actually amazing) concerts over the course of two months. But this would have been the icing on the cake for me. It would have completed the trip since it's something that I wanted to do. Joe's planned everything else out and I'll just be the puppet going along with it all. This concert just screamed me. Oh well. This gives me license to be a pouty bitch around him for the next few days. So that's good.

Lately, I have been feeling more and more puppet-like. My time is really not my own. Or so it feels. I'm either working at one place or another. And when I'm not I feel like some people use me for my car. This hasn't been happening--the car thing--in the past week or so, but the past couple of weeks, that's what it's seemed like. Like I'm being a little used. Which I doubt is the case. But I feel like I'm turning into a huge pushover when I should be getting stronger. I feel like I may be turning into something that I'm not. I don't like this feeling. Lately I've been distracted, fidgety, really tired, hornery, slobbish, sloth-like, disconnected. I don't know what's different or what's wrong, but I don't enjoy this. I'd say "fix me" but I don't know what's broken.

And it could just be the transition from my job of two years to the apartment and new-found freedom. It could be my friends or my new job or the way my hair's been acting lately even. But it could be me. Maybe I need to have the closure from the year, to really grasp it so that I can properly say goodbye to that chapter of my life. Because I haven't done that yet. Because time keeps sliding through my fingers.

If I close my eyes right now, it sounds like I'm being engulfed by the rain showers. It's pounding the pavement and the thunder is shaking the sky. It's completely amazing. There's no other word to describe it. Curling up on the couch surrounded by candles sounds like fabulous therapy right now.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Victoria" by John Mayer

Crush du Jour: John Mayer

Happy thought of the Moment: new rainy-nights mix, aromatic candles, Togos, Shrek 2, Shrek cup, my elatedness about the Shrek cup, sleep, funny dreams, South Park

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design