Writer's Block Ensues [ September 16, 2003, 12:20 am ]

So I have writer's block SO bad right now. You know how I was gloating about my start for my story? Yeah, it's just that--a start. And now there's maybe a little bit of bone structure for it, but that's IT. I'll be lucky if I have a page and a half so far when I type it up. I need to have at least 5.

GAAAH.

I've given up for the night. I really like what I'm writing about--a college relationship where the girl is pretty much controlling the guy--but I'm at a loss at the moment. I don't know if the structure's right or if the characters are cliche' or if this is even working on any sort of level. So I've surrendered for the night.

Oh great muses--rain on me tonight, for I am in a pit of despair with this story.

So in these past couple of days I've seen or read some things that have just blown me away. I never really write about stuff to rave about it, but these things are just so amazing to me that I feel the urge to gloat about them, rave about them and highly HIGHLY recommend them.

1. Punch Drunk Love: an AMAZING movie. I was really kind of hesitant to see it because the commercials made it look so off-beat and odd. And in a way it really is. It's not mainstream, but it's not too artsy. It's just an excellent excellent movie. You have to rent it. Just do it. The plot is really unique--it's kind of whatever you want to make of it. I took it as a man's journey to really find himself in a way. That's stretching it, but it worked for me. You'll see what I mean if you watch it. The symbolism is so great in the movie. I need to see it like 3 more times to get it all and really grasp everything. And I kept forgetting that it was Adam Sandler playing the main part. He is so good in this movie. No Happy-Gilmore-Opera-Man-Wedding-Singer characters. This is one complex individual in a complex world. It's just amazing.

2. Bocci by Renee Manfredi: this is a piece of short fiction that we had to read for my writing class. I was completely blown away by it. I usually like everything that we read for the class--my prof has a knack for picking out excellent pieces (Gryphon, Boys, Girl, A Good Man is Hard to Find, Things They Carried, How to Become a Writer....) to illustrate the different points of fiction. But this piece. All I can say is....damn. It completely blew me away. It's about a 10-year-old girl and she has this dynamic relationship with her parents and a hella good imagination. And the tone is so great--it's looming and kind of dark and foreshadowy. The whole time I was reading I KNEW something bad was going to happen. And the symbolism is so dense you don't even realize that it's there until almost too late. This is one of those stories that I could read a dozen times and find new things in. And one line just totally hit home for me. It has to do with the on-the-verge thing I was talking about in my last entry. "Something is different inside her; this whole day she has been restless, has felt something that is part like hunger, part thirst and part like waiting for Christmas." It's just amazing.

These two things have both inspired me and made me depressed. They've inspired me because they're SO good and so deep and layered and I feel smart when I figure out certain parts about them. The characters are totally relatable, like I can see a part of me in the main characters in each.

But it depresses because they're so amazing and I don't think that I could EVER write anything like that. I couldn't write about a 10-year-old Catholic-obsessed lolita or a man who isn't sure if he even likes himself. I was always taught to write about what I know. And it sure as fuck ain't any of the above. Gaah.

I just need to stop obsessing and focus on the good here--they're amazing things and I'm fully inspired by them more than anything.

Yeah, I'll just take it like that.

I think my insomnianic tendencies have kicked in. I think I'm babbling now. The words are blurrrry. I need to sleep.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

PS: if you want to read Bocci I have a copy in my room. It's good--borrow it from me, I encourage it.

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy to: Life Goes On by Leann Rimes

Crush du Jour: campus cuties

Happy Thought of the Moment: fun skillbuilders, snortysnort, yummy smelling guys, easy tests, free pencils, office max, being inspired, GOOD fiction, bear cubs (for you, Mel!), lots of mixed cds, getting my favorite DVDs back from Brett, Togos, ringer teeshirts, mail!, star earrings, lookin' cute, good hair day, fun meetings, late night junk food runs

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design