Sun Shines Not on Us but In Us [ June 26, 2003, 10:42 am ]

Blug--that's how I'd describe the past 36 hours. It's been kind of an up and down thing. Let me run down a list for you to illuminate:

1. Sunshine sunshine...go away! Huge heat wave yesterday. Huuuuge. It suuuucked so bad. I woke up yesterday and almost burst into tears when Mr. Radio Weatherman said it'd get to 90 degrees. But then I thought "Oh it'll be ok--Coho is air conditioned." Then I get to work and walk in the building. I almost vomitted. It was colder OUTSIDE (at a balmy 80 degrees at 8 AM) than inside. Aparrently some jackass turned the a.c. off in Coho on Tuesday night--one of the hottest nights of the year. Yeah--THAT was reeeeal smart, dude. Gaah. By 9:30 I was nearly fainting from heat sickness. I was dizzy and had a pounding headache and felt nauseous. I nearly went home, but decided to stick it out till 11ish to see if it'd improve. Luckily it did. The cool air finally began circulating by 11. Thank God. It just sucked so bad because I loathe being overheated. I can't function and I get all cranky, which isn't fair to anyone in the office.

2. Starshine, shine upon me. The UP is finally getting hip. It's a miracle by any stretch of the word, but Kelly Clarkson is coming to the UP State Fair. I had heard it on the radio briefly on Tuesday, but I couldn't find out ANY info on the internet, so I thought it was some idiot's idea of a joke. Then yesterday Pookie and I found out it was actually true. Miracle of miracles. How the fair people actually managed to get her to come here is BEYOND me, but I'm totally psyched. I think tickets are gonna sell fast. Katy's calling the ticket place early in the morning to get tix hopefully. And Em wants to come, so that'd be so sweet.

3. Every ray of sunshine somehow gets blocked by a cloud.I may not get to actually GO to above-mentioned concert. It's smack in the middle of August, right after ResLife training gets over with. So I'll obviously be back in the dorms, busy with all types of AP stuff. I emailed my boss and begged her to let me go. I don't even need a whole DAY off--just like 8 hours. But I'd understand if I couldn't go--job comes first. It's paining me to say that cuz I REALLY want to go to this concert. It figures--the one fun thing that I want to do this summer has to occur AFTER my summer's over. Grr. I'm kind of bitter and cynical at this point cuz I'm almost thinking that I'm not gonna be able to go. So the world kind of sucks through the (glasses wearing du jour) eyes of KiKi right now.

4. Warning: the consumption of too much heat and sun will make you un-right in the head. So I was excited about this coconut-Kahlua coffee stuff that I bought at Econo the other day. I decided that I was going to make icy-cold coffee for breakfast yesterday, but there were no preparation instuctions on the bag as to how to make the coffee. This fact, coupled with the fact that I only had 3 minutes to get to work made me think that I need not brew coffee to make my yummy morning delight. (I bet you can just SEE where this is going.) So I figured I can just mix the coffee stuff with ice water and milk and sugar and be happily on my way. So I start preparing it and dump the coffee in the water. Coffee doesn't DISOLVE in water--there's a reason you need to brew it. I discovered that reason about 3.2 seconds after I stirred it up and took a gulp of the coffee ground-laden ice water. I'm so brilliant sometimes. Maybe next time I'll actually give myself enough time to brew the coffee before trying to ice it down. Gaah.

That's what's been going on in my world lately. Not a whole lot, but some shiznit to make me grumpy. Oh well. Life goes on. I know that in a couple days all will be well, no matter what happens.

I should go do some work now. Baah.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Mouth" by Meril Bainbridge (how long has it been since you've heard this classic??)

Crush du Jour: runner-boy on Presque last night

happy thought of the Moment: thunderstorms, rain, cooling off, fog, non-noisy brakes (sooon!), Charlies Angels 2 out tomorrow (woohoooo!), sarongs, cool nights, good dreams, cooking with friends, clean dishes, cute pix, cleaning out Eudora, icy Pepsi, rockstar jeans, Kelly concert, talking to Pookie, Joe talks, flip flops, good hair days, reading the new Harry Potter, talking to Sierra, Milky Ways, starry nights, thinking on the beach, zen moments

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design