Everybody Wants a Thrill [ July 18, 2006, 11:08 pm ]

Journey has a power over me. Every time I hear the opening bars to "Don't Stop Believing" I stop what I'm doing, squeal and start belting out the song. I don't resume whatever I was doing until the song is through. And when I have it as a ringtone on my cell phone? I belt out the entire thing and usually end up missing a call all-together because of my deep, profound adoration of the song.

I was hoping to do a lighter-wave and sing along to that song at a Journey/Def Leppard concert next week. Journey! And Def Leppard! Together! "Love Bites" AND "Don't Stop Believin'" performed live in a period of two hours? It's enough to make this 80s-loving girl pass out in anticipation.

And apparently I'm not the only one to think this way. The entire population of Detroit evidently thinks this way. The concert that my roommate and I have been talking about for the past month (but, uh, didn't have tickets to) is sold out. Completely.

As I was busy singing along to "Someday Love Will Find You" whilst flitting to and from work, others were busy snatching up the tickets to see it sung live. And now my Journey-loving roomie and I are left ticket-less.

Who knew that so many people enjoyed Journey? Or Def Leppard? I've always enjoyed mullet rock. I just assumed that there were only a select few others who did as well. I thought wrong. And the lucky thousand will be lighter-waving come Monday night to classic rock tunes. While Becks and I are stuck here, playing it on our stereo. Which could be just as fun, if we play it loud enough. And if we can get our hands on a lighter or two. And maybe it'll be just a little easier on the wallet.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design