This Moment... [ March 29, 2004, 11:45 pm ]

Note to all: the closer you get to the stage at a concert, the more fabulous it's going to be.

That being said.....

John Mayer in Green Bay was fucking awesome.

I'm still glowy. Mmm.

15th row proved to be very good to Em and I. Very good. We had an awesome view of the stage and we made some friends with the 40-something ladies behind us. They were awesome. (I have to email them pix sometime soon actually. Wicked sweet.)

Guster was really good. I was impressed because I usually loathe opening acts. They were really good. I need to get more into them. I'm definitely buying their newest cd.

And I may be crazy, but adorable guitar player looked like he was looking in mine and Em's direction. A lot. I'm not complaining by any means. Here were me and Em during the set: "Mmmm...he's really really REALLY cute. Yeeeeah. *insert long sigh*"

Then came John. Oh my lord. He is so adorable. I melted every time I looked at him. He was wearing rock-star jeans and a button-down. That alone was enough to make me jump him. That and the combination of his unkempt, semi-curly, longish hair. Mmm.

Believe me, there are LOTS of pictures. We had my 35 MM and a digital. I didn't realize how many pix Em snapped with the digi until I was flipping through them today. Postings will ensue. I promise.

The set list was pretty much my dream setlist, with the exception of Neon. That was the one song he didn't play that I would've have killed to hear live again. But he played Not Myself, which is one of my favorite moody songs EVER. I got tears.

Now, the obligatory setlist and KiKi commentary:

Bigger Than My Body: there's something spiritual and soothing about screaming "I'll gladly go down in the flames if a flame's what it takes to remember my name" with thousands of other screaming fans while watching John jam on the guitar. Perfect opener.

Why Georgia: crowd favorite. Totally rocked and got the energy up even more. I just love the line "so what/so I've got a smile on/it's hiding the quiet superstition in my head." It's amazing in concert because he has the audience sing it back to him while he grins away. Mmmm.

Something's Missing: I was slightly disappointed by the lack of John psycho-babble, because he's said some hilarious things during this song before. A good song, but not really a highlight for me.

Not Myself: Mmm...one of the best. Stripped and accoustic, really simple. So gorgeous. Like I said--I had tears. It's one of his best in my opinion. How else can someone eloquently ask his friends/significant other if they'll stand by his side if not in this song? And I always die when I hear the line "suppose I said you're my saving grace." Gorgeous.

No Such Thing: he bitched about how his shitty job lead to him writing this before singing it. So cute. It was a good rendition. I was dancing. Mwahaha.

Blues Clues: ummm...I don't really remember this. It's just on here because it was on the official site's setlist. I think it was just an intro to the next song. John looked cute playing though, so happiness ensued obviously.

City Love: one of the highlights of the concert. It was slow and jazzy and sounded like it should have been played in a smoky piano bar after midnight. Swooning ensued. I wanted to smoke a cigar and simultaneously jump John. Oh yeah.

Victoria: an oldie. I'm ashamed to call myself a fan because I don't really know this song. Totally awesome in concert though. Just John and his guitar. The cutest thing was that he stopped after the second verse and admitted "I don't remember the third verse" because he hadn't played the song in a long time. Fabulous.

Daughters: always hard for me to stomach because it hits so close to home. I love this in concert--it adds another dimension. It's more sincere and sensitive.

My Stupid Mouth: a fun song, totally fun and bouncy. His whole band looked like they were having fun during this one. They looked like they were having fun the entire show.

Come Back To Bed: oooh--another jazzy version of a song. It was hella extended. John sat down at the edge of the stage and played his electric guitar like it was a...crap...I can't remember the name of the country twangy lap instrument. You all know what I'm talking about. It was fabulous. Sooo fabulous. More swooning ensued.

Your Body is a Wonderland: he did this great spiel about how this is probably the one song where he was totally exposing his soul and could never be accused for being full of shit. Turns out it was meant to be the intro to Clarity, not Wonderland. He messed up and almost fell over laughing. Once he got the right song, the entire female population swooned and threw bras...almost. You could tell every girl automatically started ovulating and drooling as soon as they heard the opening chords. It was funny. How can you not melt with such a sweet song though?

Clarity: one of my favorites. He just looked so into the song, so sincere. That just made the concert.

83: my all-time favorite song. Mmmm. They jammed on this for a long time. It started with John playing the drums with the drummer. Gratuitous ass oggling ensued. It was really long and just perfect. PER.FECT.

Untitled #2: first song of the encore. I closed my eyes and just got lost. It was that good. He needs to make a new album STAT.

Only Heart: Fun song, cool guitar John was playing. The highlight was that John brought this guy onstage that looked like his business manager and the guy shook his ass the entire time. He had the crowd going--it was hilarious. It was a great closer--warm fuzzies that left you smiling.

The concert was great. It's hard to say which was better--this one of the Detroit one. I can't compare them. This was another amazing experience though. More fun because of the craziness and the location and because Em shares my love of John...not as much as me, but she still lurves him.

Ooohh...he's gonna be on Letterman in a couple minutes.

Bliss ensues. Excuse me while I go swoon.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Letterman

Crush du Jour: JOHN FUCKING MAYER

Happy thought of the Moment: the concert. Oooh, the concert. Mmm.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design