Falling Into Me [ August 31, 2005, 11:41 pm ]

There's a chill in the air; the wind has a slight bite to it and there are bursts of firey color dotting the vivid greens of the trees. Fall is well on its way to being here. I, for one, couldn't be happier. While I enjoy summer for it's sunny-ness and carefree ways, it vies with winter for being my least favorite season because I hate sweating and humidity and such. And with this summer being dubbed the Summer From Hell, I couldn't wave au revoir fast enough.

Fall has always been my favorite season. And it comes fast and hard in the UP. The leaves started changing slightly a few weeks ago; I did a happy dance. The air changes, and so do people's attitudes. People turn slightly more introspective, a little more caring, peppered with a little more energy and motivation--it's like people turn into the best versions of themselves with the change of weather. Perhaps it has something to do with it being back to school time.

I confess: I miss not being in school. Classes resumed at NMU on Monday. I woke up that day and thought "I have no purpose." Let's face it--at the moment, I really, truly don't. I don't have a job (yet! Just keep keepin' your fingers crossed, please!) and I'm not in class, so my time is my own. And, quite frankly, I don't know what to do with it. I'm used to juggling class, homework, work, friends, drama and extracurriculars and now? I'm juggling...uh, nothing.

To combat this problem and the lethargy that now plagues me, I'm making some goals for myself.

- Read more. I have about five books lying around that I've "been meaning" to read. So I'm gonna shut up and actually read them.
- Listen to more music. Friends have burned me, like, a gabillion cds and I haven't listened to them. My only lame excuse is "but I like listening to John Mayer." That's fine, but I need to shut up and expand my musical horizons.
- Watch less TV. Shouldn't be hard with all the book reading and music listening I plan on doing, right?
- Clean when it gets dirty. Sounds easy, but I tend to, um, not clean when it's dirty. This'll be a fun goal.
- Scrapbook more. I have all kinds of pix I need to scrap. I'm a big old wuss--I'm afraid layouts won't turn out right. I suck. I need to shut up and do it.
- Not sleep. I sleep far too much. Really. I think this is partly when my laziness/lethargic state comes from.
- Write more. I have tons of ideas for essays and all this time. Why am I not writing? Because I'm wicked retarded, that's why.
- Learn to cook. I mean, more. Christy gave me the Betty Crocker cookbook. Wheee! This means I have no excuse to not be all chef-like. (So if you hear about any fires in Marquette...)
- Be a better friend. Meaning: listen to my friends, be there for them emotionally and be appreciative of them. Because saying thanks can mean the world to somebody. (And because I know that not hearing "thank you" after something big can hurt. A lot.)
- Don't despair. It's so easy for me to get down on myself because I don't have the perfect life right now. I need to get over myself and do what I want since I have this incredible gift of time. So, me--shut up and do something. Along those same lines, I need to not go on a pity party. I have to remind myself that life will get better. This is just a phase...this is just a phase...
- Adapt a "no day but today" attitude. Because I don't know what's around the corner, so I should live each day to its fullest.

I'm gonna have quite the fall.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

PS: I just realized that Labor Day weekend is this weekend and I have no plans. This is tragic. Let's make some plans, ok, people?
PPS: Hootie and the Blowfish are playing in the Sault on Sept. 11th. You know you want to live out your junior high dreams with me. Bwahaaa!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design