Capturing the Bitch [ October 28, 2004, 5:28 pm ]

"The biggest quality in successful people is an impatience with negative thinking."

A lot has happened in my life in the past week. Of course New York was amazing and I promise that I'll start telling tales of that trip soon. Very soon.

But for the moment, there are some things that are a big heavier on my mind.

Last night a friend (and I use that term very loosely) informed me that I've changed and that I'm not how I used to be.

Well, duh.

I was also informed that I'm bitchier than I've ever been.

It's kind of funny that this was brought to my attention. I think it's funny. I think it's funny that I'm considered a bitch now because I'm finally standing up for myself and really voicing what I think and feel.

I have never felt so empowered in MY LIFE.

And I'm not going to apologize for that. I'm living on my terms and I love it. It's like I suddenly woke up one morning and realized that I'm half a year from graduating--what am I going to do about it? I took control.

Yes, I am busier than ever--including when I was in Res-Life. I'm active in a few organizations, I'm leading one group and I'm campaigning for the Democrats all while trying to maintain a 3.5 GPA and have a semi-healthy social life.

Honestly, I feel bad that my friends feel swept aside. I didn't realize this until last night either. But they have to believe when I say that I never meant to hurt anyone in this little bitch-trip of mine. It was self-centered of me to think that I was going to be the only one affected. I see now that that is completely not true. So this is my public apology. Forgive me. Know that I still truly love all of you and appreciate you more than you will ever truly know.

What I don't like is people who feel the urge to go on a negativity trip just because they don't seem to approve of how I'm living my life. So I'm not Mary Fucking Sunshine 24/7 365 days a year. Get over it. I'm still a highly optimistic person who see the world as an amazing place. I still see the sunshine when everyone else feels the rain. I'm still in the optimistic minority. I don't think that will ever change.

The only thing that has changed is that I have clarity now. (I think.) I'm not afraid to say what I'm thinking. I'm not afraid to stand up for myself. I'm not afraid of what people think of me. (Although last night my world was shaken by my friends' revelations.) I am me.

I'm a bitch. I now own that.

Because I own it, I can't be hurt by anyone. I won't let anyone hurt me. And I won't let any negative people hurt those I hold dear either.

I've said it before, I'm saying it again: I'm reclaiming the word bitch. It's not a bad thing. I thought it was last night, but since then I don't think so anymore. I'm strong, I can survive. I will thrive, even if nay-sayers don't think that I can. Negativity can't hurt me.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design