How to Piss Me Off Royally [ September 09, 2002, 8:16 pm ]

OK, this weekend has been CHAOTIC to say the least. Too much happened. Waaaay too much. 99% of it was absolutely fantastic. The other 1%....well that's what I'm gonna focus on right now.

So last night was Hannah's bday par-tay (even though her bday isn't until Tuesday--mere technicality). It was so awesome! Christy did her up so that she actually looked like a girl for once in her life. Usually Hannah wears baggy pants and t-shirts. Not last night. Hannah was a total hottie! She was all done up with dramatic eye makeup and TONS of sparkles (thanks to me and my pixie dust glitter--heheheheheheee!) and curly fun flirty hair complete with girly pink barrettes. She looked totally awesome. And.....she was wearing a SKIRT. Whoooooa. We figured that she needed to look girly for her birthday--it is a special occasion!

So anyways....so we're all chilling at her party and having fun. And then Sam comes. I had never met Sam prior to this, but I've heard a LOT of stories about him. Mostly humorous. So I finally got to meet the guy behind the crazy stories. And everything is fine at first. He's funny and we're all a little tipsy (except me the DD--I don't need alcohol to act dumb--I do it fabulously enough without being inebriated.).

Then he starts telling really really offensive, off-color jokes. He started with a couple of feminist jokes, which is fine, because I've heard enough of them to shrug them off. Whatever. Then he said something about battered women. If he had even THOUGHT of telling battered women jokes, he would have no manhood to speak of right now. That is probably the touchies subject with me. Seriously...don't even mention it, unless you really want to make me cry for hours. (There's a long history of abuse in my family. That's all I can really say about that subject right now without tearing up. I have yet to really confront and get past the issue...)

So I was jumpy from that. He struck a nerve and I was ready to BAWL. It was bad. Then the dick-head (from this point forward Sam shall be known only as dick-head or fucker, he deserves no common happy name, just a general insult because that is all I will see him as after this incident) starts to spout off dead baby jokes.

WHO THE FUCK JOKES ABOUT DEAD BABIES????? You have to be seriously disturbed to do that. It's just one of those things that shouldn't be joked about, y'know?

And I asked him to stop after a couple. Usually I can take a couple of horrid, terrible jokes. But after striking the wrong chord earlier, I wasn't in the mood.

He wouldn't stop. I thought he would, but he wailed off 3 or 4 more, laughing the whole time. WHO THE FUCK LAUGHS AT THOSE JOKES EITHER??? A seriously retarded disturbed person.

So I ask him again--this time not so nicely. And Christy and Hannah told him to shut up too. And I;m thinking he will.

NO

He shouts out a couple more.

I couldn't take it. I left.

Yup, me the designated driver left the party. For like an hour too.

It was too much.

Usually I can control my emotions (or negative, hurtful emotions at least) pretty decently.

If I had stayed in the house with that insensitive prick for one more second, I would have burst into tears, ruined Hannah's shining moment of a party, and never forgiven myself--it was the less of two evils.

I walked around for an hour. Actually for half an hour. I was wearing these cute platforms. You really can't go very far in those without murdering your feet.

That time alone......it was honestly a godsend. I could actually thank the dickhead for allowing me time to sort out my thoughts and emotions. Because I really needed it.

I cried, I screamed, I kicked the pavement. I got it allll out when I was alone.

I mean...it's the principle of the matter. You shouldn't go around saying jokes like that--you never know if you're going to offend somebody.

And it DOES NOT matter that it was at a party where most people were drunk. I wasn't. I was coherent. And I was more than just a little offended. (Obviously.)

The kicker? He wasn't drunk either. He was spouting off these audacities completely sober.

Fucking sickening.

It alarms me that jackasses like him actually live in the world. It's a scary thought. That's actually part of why I was so emotional--because shitheads like him are roaming the earth, offending people.

But my time alone was good. I realized that, yes I annoy and offend people. But never to that extent. It hurt deeply. Cut deeply. Or reopened a wound that I am not ready to yet face. Yeah...that's the best way to put it actually.

The thing that really annoyed me is that he actually justified it by saying that his mom had a miscarriage and he had a dead baby sister.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but wouldn't that be grounds to NOT joke about it, if anything? Because in my family, my mother had more than one miscarriage, and you just have to let it go, forgive the Lord, thank him for being alive, accept the face, and move on. You don't dwell. And you most certainly don't joke about it--it's too sensitive of a matter, in my opinion.

It was just fucking disgusting.

I think I could go on about the topic. And I may later. Because it's really a big thing for me. And because I'm almost bawling right now just reliving it from last night. It is really hard. (Little FYI: I am crying right now. Now I'm gonna be splotchy for when I meet my friends. Greaaat.)

I guess if anything, I realized that from that point forward I am gonna be more sensitive to other people. Because you really just never know.

On the upside, I got the idea for my next poem for Poetry class. (I guess I could thank shitprick for that too....)

I am again battling with demons. I do not need this right now........

I need to jet to a movie with friends. But I KNOW I'll be back later to sort this all out.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design