Void of No Swearing [ March 05, 2004, 1:16 am ]

I love Spring Break. Since I've gotten back I've done next to nothing. Around 4 today I got sick of doing nothing and plowed through my closet. I weeded out everything that I haven't worn in over a year and stuffed it into two garbage bags to donate to Goodwill. Go me. I didn't give away some of my shirt because of sentimental value, but in all reality the clothes that I got rid of--there was a lot. It could be an entire wardrobe for someone. A smaller wardrobe, but there's a lot of clothes. Go me for doing a good deed.

*pat on the back*

Chrissy and I went and saw The Passion of the Christ on Tuesday. I was honestly scared to see it because of all I've heard about it. I was also scared of having a religious epiphany. I don't want or need a religious epiphany right now. I'm trying to figure things out on my own. It's a growing thing for me.

Anyway....so we went and saw it. First off, there was a LOT of people there for an afternoon showing of a movie that's been out for a week. It was almost packed...in the UP. That's kind of unheard of.

Cinematically, the movie is gorgeous. The acting is good, the storyline...well duh there. It's well-produced, moving and gorgeous. It'll win awards, I'm sure.

It's also very gory. VERY gory. Which is expected, at least it was for me because of how much Christy and Nate talked about it. It was so hard to take in parts. I managed to only not watch during a couple of parts: the cat-of-nine-tails scene dragged on for far too long because I felt sick after half a minute (it went on for what felt like 15 minutes), then when he was nailed to the cross I kept getting lower and lower in my seat. I think I whimpered because Chrissy gave me a sympathetic look and rubbed my arm for comfort. (I *heart* my friends.) But it is a really bloody movie. If you're used to gore, you can handle it, but if not, you may get queasy.

And it was moving, I'm not denying that. As He was being tortured and was dying I kept thinking that He did this for my transgressions. As well as the rest of the worlds--and that fact comforted me. All of my lessons from Sunday School kept running through my head, though. But it wasn't like a guilt trip or anything. It was just like a religious flashback of sorts.

I didn't have an epiphany, though. I know I didn't want one, but at the same time I was really disappointed that I didn't have one. I could tell that a lot of people were moved by the movie. All the girls in the bathroom had red, puffy eyes. So did I. But I didn't feel the urge to run out and sign up for a convent or anything. That made me a bit sad. Just because I was expecting it. I enjoy epiphanies, even if they're religious. (I realize I'm contradicting myself at a mile a minute here. Bare with me.) It was probably because it was SO hyped up. And because I knew what exactly had happened when He died.

I will say that I'm a lot more conscientious about my Lent resolution now. I went the whole day without swearing today! Woohoo! (I, um, can't say the same about yesterday. I lost count after the 12th time I swore. Ugh.)

I need to get some sleep. If I don't I'll end up sleeping until 1 like I did today. And I have to open the desk tomorrow, so that can't be happening.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Recess" on Disney Channel

Crush du Jour: Howie Day

Happy Thought of the Moment: new clothes, a new love in The Cure, getting scrapbooking done, cute pix, new frames, teasing Nate, Grease, good hair days, doing good for the community, pizza with ranch, Lost in Translation--my new favorite movie, Serendipity my new fishy, logo teeshirts, LJ, making my new LJ icon, the union jack, Maurices gift certificate, Glade plug-ins, Gameboy, 80s music, hot chocolate, Mini Eggs, underroos

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design