Kids, Closed-Mindedness, and More.... [ September 20, 2002, 11:56 pm ]

My life in a nutshell: Rexy is back and better than ever, the UP has turned into London (kind of), I'm way too claustrophic for my hometown, I'm way busy (as usual). Par for the course, wouldn't ya say?

So I went home last night to see my family and to get my car--Rexy-- back. I wanted to surprise my sister and watch her cheer. (She's the captain. Ooohh...)

I enter the school and I get gaped at from the start. Cuz of my flame red hair. And I get scowls and open-mouthed dismayed looks and tons of people shaking their heads and whispering to the people next to them.

Yeah umm...ok. Last time I checked, dying your hair a semi-unnatural colour was NOT considered a crime or illegal or even really going against the societal norms--at least for college.

So I discovered just how closed-minded my hometown (of Chassell, MI, in the UP for those of you who have no clue where I was from) was last night. It's kind of scary. If people are disturbed because of a stupid little thing like a hair color, think of the other major things that they may be against. Scariness. I shudder to think what kind of things those people won't even consider or think about or ponder for a split second.

(Quote of the second: "Can I see your man-boobs?" Said by yours truly. Aren't ya impressed?)

Anyways.....So yeah. Chassell if full of closed-minded small-town yooper/hicks who don't know how to think outside the box for 2 seconds. It's kind of scary to think that some people will reside there (or in towns EXACTLY like that) for their whole lives and not consider the world around them and all the things that are possible and acceptable if they would just open their minds and accept that this place is more than just white picket fences and strict religion. Yeah.......

So I'm a little worked up over here. Pheeeeeew. Breeeeeeeeathe. Yeah....

I got Rexy back!!! Whee! I'm mucho mucho pumped. After driving around a quasi-boat (a nice little quasi-boat, mind you) for a month, getting my fabulous sporty little car back was sooo nice. Yay yay yay yay yay! It's so nice to have that to not worry about anymore. Sweeeet.

As for the UP being London Part II. Yeah...it's been raining and raining and raining for like the past 24 hours. I'm not complaining. I really like this type of weather. I think it's God's way of telling us all to chill out for a bit, relax, cuddle under a comfy blankie, light a candle or three (unless you live in the dorms--grr), and devour a good book.

(K, so Christy is gonna spray Brad's feet with Bath and Body Works perfume cuz they really really stink. K, she just did it. Nice, hon, real nice.)

I'm so psyched: I get to meet my mentor tomorrow! Yay! So I'll rewind for a second so nobody's confused. I'm in NMU's Student Leader Fellowship Program (SLFP). For the first year of the program you have a mentor to see how leaders affect the community. My mentor works in the PR dept for NMU. And I'M MEETING HER TOMORROW!!! I'm beyond excited. She seems really nice. And my friend Kim had her as her mentor last year and she said that this lady's really cool. I'm psyched. She has little kids! Yay!

Can I just say how much I love little kids? Babies are sooo CUTE! Me and a couple of friends were walking back from Poetry (infamous Poetry--one of THOSE walks) on Wed. and this mom and her little baby were lounging on the grass in front of the theater. This little girl was maybe 1 year old and she was grasping her mom's hand and wobbly attempting to walk. She had this humongous grin on her face. It was the cutest thing ever. I couldn't stop smiling. Babies are sooo cute. I love them.

But this body will never ever EVER bare children. Believe me. Nuh-uh. I'm waaaay too self-absorbed and narcisistic and independent to have children. I'd rather just be an aunt or god-mother and spoil those kids. Then I can just play with them when they're happy and then give them back to their mommies and daddies when they crying and crabby and poopie. Besides, if I have kids, I swear they'd end up dumber than dirt. I have a good maternal instinct I know, but I really think my kids would be doomed.

I think I've rambled on long enough for this entry. I still have more to say but I'll talk about it later. Remind me about me being happy, stupid comedians, and other various things. I'm sure I'll be adding more in like 2 hours.

Ciao for now dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Fear is being featured in Christy's room--this movie is kinda disturbing....

Crush du Jour: Jimmy Fallon and John Mayer

Happy Thought of the Moment: having Rexy back, my family, comfy blankies, getting many many hours of sleep, my red hair, funny movies, home-cooked food, crab rangoons, free t-shirts, happy mail, not being broke, silly pix, free meals, my residents, being hopeful, London-y days, My Big Fat Greek Wedding, driving, mix cds, Norah Jones' cd

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design