The Continuing Adventures of the Karaoke Queens [ February 25, 2005, 2:05 am ]

Ok, so tonight? Tonight, tonight. It just fuckin' rocked. Rocked. My. World.

First off, I got to see the NMU production of Beauty and the Beast. I was entertained. But I still can't figure out if it was because of the play or because Katie and I spent most of the second act making snarky comments. The play itself was good for a Northern play. The sets were impressive, the costumes were REALLY good (that was my main concern--I didn't think they could pull it off), most of the actors were at least decent. My biggest glitch was that the actor playing the beast wasn't...good. He didn't have a strong voice and his acting skills weren't good by any stretch of the imagination. There were other actors in supporting roles that would have been much better. The script was also kind of cheesey. Yes, it's based off the movie. But some of the lines they added? B.A.D. Lord. I think I'll stick with my DVD, thanks. At least in that, the animation's beautiful and the music makes me cry not because it's off-key but because it's well-done.

After the play, Katie and I decided to go to Flanigans for our triumphant return. We hadn't been there for a few weeks, so we figured we'd pay homage to the place of this year's karaoke traditions. What a triumphant return it was. It was packed. I was really surprised. The other surprise was that there were more guys than girls. It was like a ratio of 2:1. Crazy. That never happens. A big heart attack of the night came we put in a slip and got called to the stage no more than fifteen minutes later.

It was a night of miracles.

There were a lot of middle-aged people there. It was so funny watching them get drunk. They were dancing and singing along to every song. When a dance song was put on, they flooded the floor. It was like an old person orgy. Hilarious!

There were also some older men hitting on not just Katie, but me as well. I guess Katie's aura is starting to rub off on me. One really reaaaally old guy danced with me. I swear he said "I like girls with curves." I think. I hope I heard wrong. Thank God he didn't try to feel me up. That would have made me throw up in my mouth a little.

There was also a softball team or two in the place. A bunch of frat-boy wannabes gettin' drunk and singing songs like "Stroke It" and "Baby Got Back." It. was. Awesome. They were absolutely hilarious. When Katie and I sang "Holding out for a Hero" one guy was our side-stage dancer. He impressed me because he knew the song. And because he was balls-out no fear about being dumb. (One of the older gentlemen that was hitting on us also decided to do a Chippendales-esque grind in front of the stage during that song. Do you know how hard it is to sing and not laugh when there's a 40-something guy behaving like a stripper in front of you?)

It was just a fun night. I haven't laughed so much in a long time. The play was hilarious entertainment, the company was top notch (I *heart* Katie!) and the guys we met/hung out with at the bar (and the bar itself for that matter) rocked. I wonder if this is any indication for how my weekend shall be....

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design