London on the mind [ February 24, 2005, 2:00 pm ]

Nope, no mishaps today. Thus far, at least. It is only 2 pm and I have only been working for 2.5 hours. The day is still young.

I've come to anticipate mishaps. Sad, isn't it? Every time I walk down a hill, I have the mindset that I'll fall. When I see something jotting out of somewhere, I think that I'll run into it. If I see a pothole/crack/crevice/sidewalk obstruction, I'm convinced I'll injure myself on it somehow. And why? Because it's happened time and time again. I am afflicted with a sickness. The sickness? Klutzitis.

And so now, I'm paranoid that something will happen when I'm on vacay. While I was fine (surprisingly enough) in New York--no major injuries or even minor bruises!--something in the back of my mind keeps nagging at me. I keep seeing myself fall off the Ferris Wheel in Chicago (and I have the lovely permanent bruise as a permanent souvenier), so it's in my head that I'll somehow add another permanent scar to my collection while staying abroad. (I think the fact that I'll be going on a ginormously MASSIVE ferris wheel type of thingy has a lot to do with it.)

And in other news--I've become a frighteningly dull and annoying one-dimension caricature of myself. I only! Talk! About! London! It's all that's on my mind. Images of Big Ben and Kensington Palace have overriden the major parts of my brain that allow me to coherently speak and study and be quasi-normal. I've already apologized in advance to all of my friends and warned them that from here on out I'm going to be ridiculously annoying. Consider yourself properly advised.

I am so disgustinly unproductive today. All I've done is log some packages. The rest of the time has been spent sifting through Cosmo and glaring at residents who ask dumb questions. (One such instance? Girl comes up with mug of...something and asks to use microwave. I tell her that we don't have one, but there's one in a VA laundry room. She yells at me that it's not working and then demands that I tell her where another one it. I tell her to use her suitemate's and she yells again saying she doesn't have one. So I kind of yell back that I don't know where she can use a microwave, but it certainly ain't here, now excuse me I have important matters to conduct, buh-bye.) God, I loathe dumb people. Especially when they're bothering me when I'm obviously doing something important like looking at people's away messages or stacking the packages to look like a castle tower.

Woo. Only 3 and a half more hours until I'm free. Then Beauty and the Beast (which I'm praying will be half-decent) and karaoke. Let my weekend begin--because then I'm that much closer to being in London.

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design