Jade'D [ September 06, 2003, 10:23 pm ]

The SLFP Fall retreat can be summed up in one word:

AMAZING.

As last year, I was slightly hesitant to go because it takes up such a big chunk of the weekend--a good 24 hours or so. And that annoyed me. But by Thursday night, I was psyching myself up because I knew that I needed to escape Hunt, campus and my worries for a while.

This definitely did it. I made a pact to myself to just forget about whatever was bothering me and go in with a clear mind and a thirst for learning and fun. It was the best thing I could have done.

It feels so good to be reunited with friends that you haven't seen in months. SO good. I didn't realize how much I missed some of the people until I saw them and got to give them hugs.

And the thing I realized about the Jade Blocks (each SLFP class has a color--my class is Jade) is that we're all friends, there's no real cattiness or viciousness among the 55 of us. It's awesome. I can talk to any and all of them and there's just this bond between us all, this amazing sense of camaraderie.

I think that's what really made this fall retreat. We all hung out and talked and had a blast.

Hands-down the best moment of the retreat came during some down-time before dinner last night. I was just chilling in my room with the fabulous Miss Dinkle, talking. A few more girls joined us cuz we were talking about boys and how frustrated we were by them all. And then a few more girls joined us. Pretty soon the room was nearly full of girls bitching about guys and sharing their stories about how dumb guys can be. It was a very therapeutic hour for us Jade girls. The estrogen was flowing and bonding was done. It was quite the fabulous moment.

There were a lot of great moments, though. The whole bonfire was great cuz I just got to talk to a bunch of people for hours on end. And I bonded with a friend that I never would have guessed would ever have opened up to me. That was awesome, just to know that he trusts me, when he's not the type to really trust anyone.

And Pete and I were reunited after a few months apart. I love that boy like none other. He's hands down one of the sweetest people that I know--so caring and open-minded and willing. He's such an amazing person (damn I'm using amazing A LOT today), I'm just happy we're friends. We laid on a blanket on the beach looking up at the stars for about an hour. It was so serene with the twinkling and the waves lapping and us laughing. Fabulous.

AND--Sierra and I are reunited as well! WOOHOOOOOOOOOO!!!! I was so excited to see her. And I'm so pumped that she's in SLFP now too. I know she'll get a lot out of it. It was so so SO fabulous to see her again. Girl, we need to plan something for next weekend. Fo-sho.

It was just a fun fun weekend. I know I'm waxing all poetic and being all mushy, but it was such a good time. I feel like I grew a lot in the 24 hours. Plus...there were many a photo shoot with my girls, so I can't wait to run to the one-hour development place tomorrow. Heh heh.

I think I'm just grateful that I gained perspective. By Friday morning, I wasn't so pissed about the boy situation. And by the time I got home today, I was quite laissez-faire about it. I just realized that if it's meant to work out, all will work out. If he doesn't realize that I'm fabulous, then he's obviously not the one for me. He may be Mr. Right, he may not. I realize how great he is, but at this point I don't know if he possesses all that I'd like in a boyfriend.

Yeah, I got to do some soul-searching while I was there. And I realize how much I love my friends. And I can reiterate how much I love me.

I am Jade'd. And I mean that in the best way, even if no one else knows what it means.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: Pay the Girl and some residents hanging out in my room

Crush du Jour: Adam Sandler

Happy Thought of the Moment: self-realization, cold water, bonfires, seeing old friends, making new friends, cool names, JADE RULES, tug of war, fun residents, s'mores, the art of burning marshmallows, baggy sweatshirts, guy bashing/girl bonding sessions, retreat fun, photo shoots

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design