My VDay Wind-Down (Got TP??) [ February 15, 2003, 12:59 pm ]

Michael Jackson is quite the fascinating person. Whether that's a good thing or not is yet to be determined. I'm watching that Michael Jackson special that caused such a controversy a week ago. (It's re-airing on VH1--God bless cable.) He seems like such a wack-job on the surface, until he starts revealing his perceptions and feelings and thoughts. Part of me thinks that he should have gone into therapy a looong time ago, but part of me sympathizes with him and wants to hug him. Who knows....I have a lot of thoughts on the subject, honestly, but I don't feel like getting into them.

So V-Day (or anti-V-Day) wasn't actually so bad. Which really surprised me. I thought I'd be in a funk of self-loathing all day cuz of the whole guy situation. Not so! Hurraaah! I am a liberated, poised, confident, fabulous girl who had realized that guys are icky and that they do not make my world go round. Not that they ever have. *grin* (Can we all tell I've been reading Bridget Jones a bit?)

Honestly it was cuz of my friends that my day was so great. I spent the greater portion of the afternoon and evening with Em, devouring Lizzie McGuire and Border Grill. And the fabulous Miss Amanda sent me a flower (hon you are sooo the greatest!!) and I just got to hang out with friends and be blissful. I am loooooved! I love my friends. They are the greatest people on earth.

So for once, Valentines Day wasn't a completely uggy situation for me. Hurrah!

To cap the night, Em and I went to Dare Devil. What better way to spend V-Day than with your bestest drooling over Ben? I couldn't think of anything more fabulous.

The movie was....a hell of a lot darker than I expected it to be. Here was me: Oooh it'll be like Spider-Man. I loved SpiderMan. It was funny, in-depth, relatable. DareDevil....not so much. I mean, I liked it, it was a good decent movie. It totally wasn't what I was expecting it to be. A shitload of people die in this movie. In every Colin Farrell scene, at LEAST one person dies. AT LEAST. And from the the previews and ads and stuff you'd think that Jennifer Garner strutted around in her little leather outfit throughout the whole movie. She wears that charming little ensemble for like 10 minutes--that's it. Which, I'm sure, made every male in America disappointed.

It was just a dark movie. Em had warned me that it was a dark comic, but I expected them to maybe make it a bit lighter. And the plot could've gone deeper. We get that he's tortured and that he wants vengeance. But give us more about Elecktra and where she's coming from. I just think the script could have dug a lot deeper. I think they were just skimming the surface.

This sounds like such a critique. I don't really mean it to be. This was just what was going through my head as I watched the movie. It was a good movie. I'd see it again. And all the actors were great in it. And the action sequences were amazing.

My new theory is that if you know some type of martial arts you'll attract hotties like Ben. Me and Em are gonna learn us some Kung-Fu this summer then maybe we'll find our soul-mates. *grin*

(ooohhh--they're talking about how he shares his bed with kids. That's sooo freakin' weird.)

OH--I HAVE to comment on this. Before the movie there was a trailer for this movie called Willard. WHO THE FUCK THOUGHT THIS MOVIE WOULD BE A GOOD IDEA?!?!??? This looks like the stupidest, most creepy movie EVER. It's about a guy who tells these legions of rats what to do and they obey him. Eww eww EEEEWWWW. The Creepy Thin Man from Charlies Angels is the star of this movie. First off, he doesn't have enough credentials to be starring in a movie--even though he seems perfect for this CREEPY role. But the whole premise of the movie just skeezes me out to no end. There's literally thousands of rats in this movie. It sounds really retarded. I cannot believe this movie got made. GAAAH. It soo GROSS. It sounds like a Poe story or something. *shudder* I can't even think about this movie. It just makes me feel all grossed out inside. GAAAAH.

New subject......

Oh, I got to work the front desk last night. (Oh right--Michael just said that he didn't change his face, that he only had 2 surgeries. Uh huh. Welcome to Denial-Ville, population Michael Jackson.) That was fun--midnight to 3 am. It was really quiet. I was disappointed that I didn't get to see drunk people stumbling through the lobby, but there wasn't any parties. Boo.

I did get some interesting phone calls last night though, while working.

Conversation #1: Uhhh...yeah. They told me to call you. I keep getting pop-ups. So click the close button...Oh--are they a bunch of them? (I said this while thinking what the fuck? I am NOT the bloody help desk.)Yeeeahh there's a bunch of them. I can't get them to stop. I was looking at a website and they just won't stop now. So shut down your computer. That's all you can do. BYE.

Conversation #2: Yeah...I keep getting those pop-ups still. Did you go back to the same site? Yeah, it's a good site. So don't go back, duh! Go to a different site. But there's pictures... I'm sure there are other sites that have "pictures." Do you have any recommendations? Any good sites? Ummm...no, but just do a search, I'm sure that you'll find other stuff, mmmk?

I have another problem. I keep hearing noises in the room next door. Should I do something? (I'm thinking "what a doof--don't do anything." I'm also trying to channel my inner-RA and think of what they taught us during summer training all while attempting to not laugh my ass off.) Well what room are you in? I don't know if it's above me or next to me or what, man...it's just loud. It's a rhythmic bumping sound. Should I go tell them to shut up? I wouldn't. Chances are they'll be done in 5 minutes. But he has a lot of stamina, he's been at it for an hour already.

It was all I could do to not laugh. I thought maybe it was a prank call but I wasn't sure. The more the guy talked though, the more I thought it sounded like....

*chomp*

TODD.

Yeah. Christy and Todd and Todd's brother Nick were hella bored and decided to see how long they could play me on the phone. Charming, guys, charming.

At least I had entertainment during the looong boring hours at the desk. And Angela my co-worker got pranked too. THAT was hilarious. I knew right away that it was them when she was talking to them on the phone. I had to sit there and poke myself to keep from busting up laughing.

Thanks for the fun, guys. :P

PS: I KNOW that you did it to make me write about it in here. You win. Yay for you, ya get a gold star. *razz*

Aight, I need to get my arse in gear and get ready to go visit my dad. I'm sooo thrilled.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: the Michael document and "The Lion Sleeps" by NSync

Crush du Jour: Ben Affleck

Happy Thought of the Moment: friends love (eee!), Ben, hangin' with Em, Lizzie marathon, hilarious phone calls, Top Gun, Border Grill, cute Valentines, new issue of Cosmo, a Crush from a crush (any clue who Mr. Fifty could be?), no homework, Tom Cruise, 80s movies, Disney Channel, TLC, phone calls from mommy, talking with Pookie, Jamie Kennedy here tomorrow, pink flowers, PINK POWER, MTV, SNL, fun mixes, coloring, lots of sleep, new SNL tonight!

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design