What Kind of Fairy Tale Heroin Would I Be Anyway? [ March 18, 2004, 6:21 pm ]

I would think guys are just falling over themselves to get to you.

Oh Krissy, how has some guy not just come and swept you off your feet? You're so wonderful.

And about ten million other comments from my friends in this past week alone.

Yes, I am aware that I am single. I am also accutely aware that the rest of the world is coupled up...with the exception of like me and five of my friends.

It's true! This world I am living in is built for couples. I'm not even talking theoretically about the world in general, I'm talking about my life. President's Ball is on Saturday--scramble to find a date or else you're a pathetic loser. And while campus movies, lectures and events are fun for groups of friends, there's inevitable a couple cuddling and/or making out no matter what direction you look at.

Everyone. Is. Coupled. Right now. Maybe it's Spring Fever. Maybe it's all those stupid reality shows. Whatever it is, it's annoying.

And, also, it just seems like I have a new perception on the whole couples thing. It seems like everyone's significant other is just there. Not like there where they're making out in the hallway or anything. Just there in the mention-them-nonchalantly-kind-of-way like "yeah we're going out and we're moving in and itsnotabigdeal."

It seems really odd to me. Maybe it's just an odd way for me to perceive it.

But along with that observation, I've been noticing that people have been falling into relationships the exact same way. One moment someone's walking to class, the next BAM! They have someone suctioned to their mouth and they're making plans to elope in Vegas.

It just baffles me. I've always had these granidose ideas about relationships and being head-over-heels and enraptured and pretty much all this fairy tale stuff. And I don't know why, but I'm just really realizing right now that life isn't like that. If life is a fairy tale, it's certainly a warped one. Reality is far from anything Hans Christain Anderson ever wrote.

Then after realizing this, I have to think that if it seems so simple...or at least less complicated than I've perceived it to be, then why don't I have anyone? And as much as I'd like to say that I'm too busy and I'm fulfilled and I'm empowered--which is all true--the simple fact remains that I'd like to just have that little addition to my life.

Not that that should come as a surprise to anyone. Hmm.

I don't know what I meant to accomplish by writing this. I think I just wanted to send it into the universe and provoke some thought on my part. Hmmm.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Take My Picture" by Filter

Crush du Jour: the usual...John Mayer

Happy Thought of the Moment: Big Bad VooDoo Daddy Saturday with Chrissy, done with classes, having the dumb rewrites done, green beer, fun times with the Erins, Subway, hooky (hehe), Spring Fever, getting my John Mayer tix, fun mixes, cleaning

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design