"Eeew Krissy!" [ March 27, 2003, 2:13 am ]

My insomnianic tendencies kick in once again. I should be sleeping...in theory. I have to wake up early tomorrow and I have a full FULL day ahead of me. But I've decided that I must write in here first. Uhh...yeah.

So I went to see Chuck D tonight. That was quite interesting. I knew it was going to be a good speech. It was really broad. He talked about racism and rap music and the war and how we're all masses and being blindly lead--like the Matrix type of thing. Actually, scarily enough, some of the stuff that he talked about sounded like stuff a cult leader would say to disillusioned, lost people. That kind of creeped me out. But he talked for so looong. What he was saying was fascinating enough and it didn't really make me bored. But at one point I tapped my friend Andy's arm and asked for the time--it was after 9. Yeah--I had NAE at 9. Not impressive. At the best I expected him to speak for an hour and a half. Ooooh no. He spoke for AT LEAST 2 hours. We left when he started to answer questions cuz of the meeting. Andy stuck it out and enterred the NAE meeting at quarter after 10. So, Chucky D spoke for a good 3.25 hours. Daaamn.

(Just as a random FYI at the moment--my feet smell. Sorry if that's gross, but it's kind of bugging me at the moment.)

The really interesting part of the lecture was that I saw the guy that I had the biggest crush on last year. I totally didn't expect to see him at this thing, so when I saw him, I sort of got dizzy and semi-giddy. It was a total flashback to how it used to be when I was around him. Craziness. I felt all dumb because he was like four rows ahead of me and I had to get up to go to the restroom before the thing started. So I walked past him, wondering if he recognized me or remembered me or anything. When I was returning then I walked past him and it looked like he was engrossed in conversation with his friends, so I focused on not tripping or anything (cuz that kind of stuff happens to me at the most inopportune times). But he did recognize me, which made me even giddier. We talked for a little bit. It really got me thinking though. He's honestly the one crush that I wasn't ashamed of having--ever. With the other guys I've liked they've either been asses or dorks or bad dressers or had some sort of dweeby aspect about them. But with this guy...I don't know. He's sweet, sincere, smart, cute--everything you'd want in a guy. Seriously. I almost regret not acting on it. (Cuz I did almost tell him how I felt this summer, but I totally chickened out. I really wish I hadn't now.)

Huh...

I guess this is some food for thought for me.

And I still don't know what I'm gonna do about NAE--I'm on the fence whether I should run for co-chair or not. I'm totally devoted to being the AP and a lot of people don't think that I can co-chair and still focus on my job. This makes me want to prove them wrong and show that I am a goddess. I just don't know. Brett will honest-to-God kill me if I don't run for co-chair. I don't know. I just don't want to disappoint anyone or let anyone down. I also have to focus on me and my sanity.

It's a lot to think about....

I talked to my mommy tonight. I adore talking to her. Our relationship just keeps getting better. Now I see why people want to have children sometimes--so that they can have great relationships when the kids grow up. Anyways...so yeah, she's coming to Marquette tomorrow to start shopping for Katy's graduation party. This means free meal for Krissy. Hurraaah! And I get my tax checks too! And my other mail. What a happy day!!! *grin*

I also decided to bite the bullet and run the nose-ring idea past her--even though my brain kept telling me to shut up. But I really can't keep stuff from my mom. I'm too much of a wuss and I respect my mom way too much for that.

Yeah...her reaction was interesting.

Why why whyyyy--eeewww!--why would you want to do this, Krissy?!? You're going to scar yourself for life! Nose ring--eeww! That's just GROSS! For 18 years I raised you so that you'd have no scars and so you wouldn't be hurt or hurt yourself and now THIS! Eewwwww!!! Wha-what are people going to think? Oh GOD--it's going to be like this for Katy's graduation. Oh God oh God....Eeeww.

I especially enjoy the part where she makes it sound like I'm going to tattoo and pierce my entire body like some type of circus freak. Yeah...so my mom's not the biggest fan of this idea. But I pointed out to her that this wasn't permanent and that if I got sick of it I could merely take it out and that'd be that. I also pointed out that because of her I will never be able to get a tattoo because of the conversation we had this past summer and because of the sheer amount of guilt she placed on me when I was begging her to let me ink myself up.

I also reminded her that I'm 20 and fully capable of making responsible choices for myself. That pretty much shut her up. So...I think I won that argument. So guess what I'm going to do this weekend? (God willing....) *grin*

K, I need to go to sleep. I'm mucho mucho tired.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Landslide" by Dixie Chicks

Crush du Jour: Jesse Bradford, Eminem

Happy Thought of the Moment: encouragement, seeing my mommy tomorrow, nosering maybe, residents, fluffy pillows, fun lectures, orange-flavored water, free pizza, punk boys, poetry, hoodies, my newish New Balance, almost the weekend, sleeeeep, being on Dylans radio show tomorow, Katie G (mwah hon!), Stitch

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design