WaterLogged [ May 15, 2003, 3:12 pm ]

Sooo....I anticipated this entry to be all about my new-found love of the Matrix and just how kick ass the new movie is (cuz I saw it before it was really supposed to be released--10 last night--woohoo!). But not so much anymore.

I have greater weightier things on my mind.

Like being homeless....temporarily...

I hope.

Yeah.

I woke up today thinking that it was gonna be a nice peaceful uneventful day: I had to clean, pack, make a mix cd for my mom, run to WalMart...the usual stuff. Then Em calls me asking about a flood watch.

Whaaaaa?!?

I was still sleepy and cranky so I had no idea what she was talking about. so I look on Weatherbug and see something about a dam breaking and a voluntary evacuation. So I'm just like "whatever" and prepare to crawl back into bed.

Then I hear pounding on my door. It's the landlord. He's like "ahhh, you gotta evacuate cuz of the flood." That's it. He babbled about the broken dam but he didn't really say if we were supposed to go anywhere or when we'd be allowed to come back or whatever. Ummm...nice.

I had to wake up my poor semi-hungover roommate and attempt to explain the situation to her. Not cool.

I was still thinking that this was just to humor people, so I only packed like a couple of pairs of underwear and a set of clothes for tomorrow (which in my world is really like 5 outfits, but still). I didn't really think anything of it until Denae and I were driving along Presque and we saw cop cars and fire trucks literally barracading the road, not letting anyone onto our road, just letting people out. There were lots of firetrucks. I didn't think that many trucks existed in Marquette, honestly.

It was surreal. That's when it really started to sink it. This was for real. The flood was real.

It really began to freak me out when I got to Em's office. (Where I'm presently camped out till 5ish today.) That's when Em and the senior secretary were talking about buildings crumbling or collapsing.

Oh good GOD.

I never thought about that. I am now.

And I'm freaking out.

It's scary.

I could be homeless.

What the hell am I going to do if my building crumbles? That wouldn't be a good situation, that's for damn sure.

Granted, the chances of this really honestly happening probably aren't that great.

But it's still a possibility, right?

This is the UP--where one minute it's beautiful and summery and the next minute the wind is freezing your nose off and the snow is pelting your eyelids shut.

It's just weird because I never thought that Marquette could flood. You never think about that. Yeah, we get some mean thunderstorms, but nothing to really sweat about.

I just want to curl up in bed and not think about this. I'd be so happy if this were a bad dream.

But it's not.

I want my mommy.

I want to be able to go back to the apartment tomorrow and shower and stuff before going home for the weekend. And I want to be able to come back here knowing that my building is fine, that my stuff is fine, that I'll be fine.

This really changes one's perspective on things, that's for damn sure.

I'm really scared right now.

And yeah--part of it is really materialistic. "Oh god--all my cds and movies and pictures and clothes and stuff." You know? That type of thing. But some of the stuff is important and I'd totally go up and save some of my stuff right now if I could. But I can't. It's kind of like that question "what would you save if your house was burning to the ground?" What would I save? I really want to grab the picture of me and my mom. (And the pic of me and Mark McGrath too.) And my scrapbook just cuz I've put so much time and effort into it. And my senior yearbook. That honestly it. I'd feel so much more at ease if I could just get those things.

But I can't.

It's really just a scary feeling. I feel very vulnerable right now.

The really funny thing is that most of the people evacuated were college students. We're the ones that really live on Presque--it's right by campus, it makes sense. And I thought that I'd have some place to stay, but I really don't cuz most of my friends live on campus--and that looks like it's gonna be evacuated too.

GAAAAAAAAAH.

This is so frustrating and stressful.

The only good thing about this is that Em is right there experiencing it with me, cuz she lives on Presque too. Not as close to the lake as me, but right down the street.

We're kind of thinking of this as an adventure.

She was smart enough to grab more of her clothes and a blanket and stuff. Yeah. Oh well. It'll be an adventure for sure. We're gonna walk down Presque after she gets off of work and we're going to see what's really happening hopefully. Find out the real deal. Then we'll probably just go to the Red Cross Shelter for the night if we need to.

The warning's only supposed to last until 9:30 tonight, but who the fuck knows how accurate that really is. I've been hearing some shady stuff. If the other dam breaks then who really knows what's gonna happen. Hmm.

I'm freaked out. But what can you do? Shit happens. And it really does make a great story. It just kind of sucks while it's happening.

Gaah. I'm gonna go. Keep your fingers crossed for me.

Ciao dahling!

~*Krissy*~

Livin' Out My RockStar Fantasy To: "Desert Rose" by Sting (one of his best, in my opinion)

Crush du Jour: Keanu Reeves (daaamn he's fiiiine)

Happy Thought of the Moment: adventures with Em, Matrix Reloaded, cd mixes, sleeping in, soft pillows, gorgeous spring days, Togos, keeping hope, talking to mom, home tomorrow, Stitch (oh GOD! I should have grabbed him!!!), Winamp, Rupert my teddy bear, fuzzy blankies, hoodies, good hair days (despite it all....)

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design