Whee! Wii! [ April 22, 2009, 4:18 pm ]

"Is it tacky to put a wishlist in with my graduation announcement?" I gazed at the white box as little droplets of drool formed on the sides of my mouth.

"Nooo. Not at all. I totally would." Brett, as always, is nothing if not an enabler.

"Hmm...."

This conversation was had while in the Wii aisle of Best Buy yesterday, where I was dangerously close to waltzing out of the store with a brand new gaming system...though I really don't have the money for it. What I do have on my side is the fact that I'm graduating in 16 days and also a friend who encourages and enables (empowers?) me to do tacky things like put "this is what you should buy me to celebrate my Masters Degree" wishlist in with my graduation announcements.

While I'm not going to do that (I'm bold, but not tacky and that really crosses some sort of line), I have no quelms about listing things on here because:

a.) it makes for a good blog topic and
b.) I loves me a good list.

While I don't expect anyone to give me anything, a girl can dream. And after the crap I've gone through these past couple of years, I think I deserve a shiny, happy present or two. So, universe and readers of this blog, if you want to buy me happy, shiny presents I won't stop you. In fact? Here's a list to help you with your shopping needs:

* a Wii! Because I've never had a video game system and I'll actually have time to play video games once I'm done with classes. Crazy idea, I know.
* a laptop! Because mine is still on the fritz and only God knows when it, uh, won't be.
* money! Because somehow I need to fund a move to wherever I end up. Harumph.
* gift certificates to Barnes & Noble and/or Target. Because we all know of my love/addiction to these two beautiful places.
* a car! I'm just putting it out there. Mwahaha!
* a Wii!!! I really REALLY want one.

In all honesty, I can't believe that this journey is nearly over. It's really crazy to think about. My final classes are next week and then after that I'll be preparing to graduate. (Which reminds me: I need to make reservations at a couple restaurants and stat. Crap.) It's kind of surreal. Until I graduate, though, I have my hands full with evals for my staffers and final projects of every sort. And, oh yeah--figuring out that whole job thing. I'm not as stressed as I can be, but my blood pressure isn't at its lowest point ever. I've heard that playing the Wii could fix that though...

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design