Capturing the Moment [ July 29, 2008, 12:31 pm ]

A quick update as I kill time before going to lunch, bulleted for your pleasure:

* My friend's wedding was beautiful. Simple, elegant and fun, much like her. As for me? I didn't cry during my reading, which made me proud. I did end up crying during the reception, which led to Brett using the word "douche" about a hundred times, as he tried to comfort me and cheer me up. The word douche? Will always make me laugh.

* I am wildly inappropriate in every situation you put me in. Like we all didn't know that. But since the break-up it's been even moreso like that. Coping mechanism, anyone? In my opinion it's better than drinking myself into a stupor every night. (Don't think there hasn't been drinking, though. Because there has been. Oh yes. It's so good when it hits my lips. But I promise I'm doing it responsibly and in the presence of friends.)

* Counseling is a blessing and a curse. My therapist is a thoughtful, quiet woman who apparently enjoys making me cry every five minutes. It's a blessing because it really is helping me to reflect upon the relationship and events that have transpired. It's a curse because I'm also diving into issues I didn't know I had--or maybe that I didn't want to acknowledge and so now I have to be all introspective and work on myself when all I really want to do is call my ex a douche and get to the point where I don't cry every. Single. Day.

* I almost went a day without crying. Almost. But it's the going to bed alone with only my thoughts part that gets me every time. Why is it so hard?

* My birthday went better than I thought, mainly because I have the most amazing friends in the entire universe and history of the world. They helped me to remember to celebrate my day and who I am and the day ended with me and six close friends sitting around Texas Roadhouse making completely inappropriate comment and laughing until my stomach hurt. The fact that they were there with me made me realize how much love I do have in my life. People like that help me to remember that I deserve great things. Thank you, friends. I love you all.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design