Let's All Burst Into Song [ January 23, 2005, 12:28 am ]

Can we tell that all I've watched/listened to in the past 28 hours have been musical-related? This is what I start thinking about. Without further babbling, I present to you....

The Top 5 Reasons Why Life Should Be More Like a Musical

5.) The costumes! They're elaborate! They're pretty! Life is beautiful, but it'd be more beautiful if we paraded about in gorgeous costumes all. the. time.
See: Phantom of the Opera, Chicago

4.) Everyone can dance in musicals. If this were real-life and everyone danced nobody would bitch about working out. We'd all be in shape from tap-dancing down hallways and swirling around sidewalks.
See: West Side Story, Singing in the Rain and every other Gene Kelly and/or Fred Astaire movie ever made

3.) Emotion is conveyed more accurately and words are expressed more clearly in musicals.
Exhibit A: "Let me be your freedom/let daylight dry your eyes/I'm here with you beside you/To guard you and to guide you" (Phantom)
Exhibit B: "Cellophane/Mister Cellophane/Should have been my name/'Cause you can look right through me/Walk right through me/And never know I'm there..."(Chicago)
Exhibit C: "Words sound false/when your coat's too thin/feet don't waltz/When the roof caves in/So if you kiss me/If we touch/Warning's fair/I don't care very much (Cabaret--even more intense with Alan Cumming singing it)
Exhibit D: "How could a night so frozen/be so scalding hot? How could a morning this mild/be so raw? Why are entire years strewn/on the cutting room floor of memory/When single frames from one magic night/forever flicker in close-up/on the 3D Imax of my mind? That's poetic/that's pathetic" (Rent)

2.) Along those lines...guys in musicals can express their thoughts and feelings. Beautifully. And in tune. And usually accompanied by dance. And they're not all gay.
See: Moulin Rouge, Rent, Phantom

and the number one reason life should be like a musical.....
1.) Production numbers! There's dancing! Choreography! Bright lights! Those pretty costumes I mentioned earlier! Life cannot suck if you're dancing with shirtless hotties on a gorgeous dancefloor surrounded by huge chandeliers while singing some multi-layered melody by Webber or Kander & Ebb.
See: "Masquerade" in Phantom, "Your Song" in Moulin Rouge, "Cell Block Tango" in Chicago, "Chim-Chim-Cheree/Step in Time" in Mary Poppins, "La Vie Boheme" (Rent), "Goodnight and Thank You" (Evita)

Ciao, dahling!

~*Krissy*~

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
twitter
notes
host
design